NMPA NASCAR Most Popular Driver

Voting for the 2012 National Motorsports Press Association (NMPA) NASCAR Most Popular Driver award will officially begin March 15. The 10-week playoff format will return, with the top 10, based on votes received, competing for top accolades at season’s end.

Fans can visit www.MostPopularDriver.com and vote once a day for their favorite NASCAR Sprint Cup driver. Voting for the full field of drivers will end on Sept. 8 at 11:59 PM ET. The 10 drivers with the most votes will be announced as finalists, and the vote count will reset to zero.

Fans will then have 10 race weeks to cast their votes once a day to determine the 2012 NMPA NASCAR Most Popular Driver from the final field of 10 drivers. Voting will conclude Nov. 18 at 11:59 PM ET. The winner will be announced at the NASCAR NMPA Myers Brothers Luncheon in December.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. notched his ninth consecutive NMPA NASCAR Most Popular Driver Award last season. Only Earnhardt Jr. and Bill Elliott have won the award nine consecutive times since the award’s inception in 1953.

“The NMPA is proud to offer fans the chance to voice their opinion on NASCAR drivers and determine who will be honored with this award,” said Rea White, President of the NMPA. “This annual award allows the fans to have their voices heard and make their choice for favorite driver known.”

The National Motorsports Press Association was formed more than 40 years ago. It consists of motorsports writers, broadcasters and photographers from throughout the U.S. and abroad.

For more information, and to vote on the NMPA NASCAR Most Popular Driver Award, fans should log on to www.MostPopularDriver.com.