Marcos Ambrose takes Sonoma pole

By Brian Wiggins 

When the Sprint Cup Series came to Michigan last weekend, Marcos Ambrose didn’t have a pole. Now, he has two in two weeks after taking the top starting spot for Sunday’s Toyota/ Save Mart 350 at Sonoma.

Ambrose was able to knock-off Jimmie Johnson for the pole, turning the only lap in the 95 mph bracket. Ambrose then held off Kyle Busch, Clint Bowyer, Martin Truex Jr., and Jeff Gordon to take his first pole at the California road course.

“I don’t know if I got it all, but I got a lot of it,” Ambrose said after winning the pole.

“I’m thrilled for my team. It takes a whole team to qualify on the pole two weeks in a row. But there’s a 100 mph split between the two. Last week was over 200 [mph], this week is under 100 [mph]. Both laps just as good as each other.

“I’ve been trying to get a pole for a long time, but now I’m getting greedy I have two in two weeks.”

Ambrose will start along-side Jeff Gordon, followed by; Jimmie Johnson, Greg Biffle, Martin Truex Jr., Clint Bowyer, Kyle Busch, Kurt Busch, Matt Kenseth, and Carl Edwards are the top-10 starters for Sunday’s race.

On a track that’s difficult to pass, Ambrose will not only have the best view when the green flag drops, but his pit crew will have the best pit stall when it comes to that all important in-race strategy that is rampant on the road courses.

“It’s going to help us a lot. It’s manage our fuel mileage better for us, going to get us farther away from the pack.”

With only 44 cars entered for Sonoma, only one driver was forced to pack up following qualifying.

Inception Motorsports’ “road course ringer”, Brian Simo is the lone driver not to make the 43-car field for the Toyota/ Save Mart 350.

Toyota/ Save Mart 350 starting lineup 

1: Marcos Ambrose

2: Jeff Gordon

3: Jimmie Johnson

4: Greg Biffle

5: Martin Truex Jr.

6: Clint Bowyer

7: Kyle Busch

8: Kurt Busch

9: Matt Kenseth

10: Carl Edwards

11: Ryan Newman

12: Juan Pablo Montoya

13: Brad Keselowski

14: Joey Logano

15: Kasey Kahne

16: Denny Hamlin

17: A.J. Allmendinger

18: Bobby Labonte

19: Dale Earnhardt Jr.

20: Casey Mears

21: Brian Vickers

22: Scott Speed

23: Paul Menard

24: Tony Stewart

25: Jamie McMurray

26: Kevin Harvick

27: David Gilliland

28: Boris Said

29: David Ragan

30: Aric Almirola

31: Regan Smith

32: Dave Blaney

33: David Mayhew

34: Robby Gordon

35: Jeff Burton

36: Joe Nemechek

37: Chris Cook

38: J.J. Yeley

39: Travis Kvapil

40: Josh Wise

41: Tomy Drissi

42: Landon Cassill

43: Stephen Leicht