Mark Martin wins Subway Fresh Fit 500 pole

Mark Martin seems to be just like a fine wine. He just keeps getting better with age.

Friday afternoon, Martin drove his No.55 Aaron’s Toyota Camry to the top of the speed charts during qualifying for Sunday’s Subway Fresh Fit 500 at Phoenix International Raceway, his second consecutive pole for this race.

Martin’s lap of 138.074 mph around the one-mile oval is the second fastest qualifying time at the track.

“Rodney Childers (crew chief) and everybody who works on the [car] are just incredible,” said Martin. “They started talking about what they were going to do for qualifying and I just covered my ears and walked off.”

The pole is the first for Martin in 2013, and his fifteenth Sprint Cup pole since 2009, the most of any driver during that stretch.

“After I made my run, I asked them,’What’d ya do? Did you change all that stuff you said you were going to?’

“They just make great decisions, put me in great racecars, and I’m proud to succeed with these guys. They back me up and support me so much.”

By winning his 56th career pole, Martin breaks a tie for seventh on the all-time Sprint Cup pole list with Bill Elliott.

Starting alongside Martin for Sunday’s 312-lap race will be Kasey Kahne in the No.5 Chevrolet, the car Martin used to drive.

Jimmie Johnson, Kyle Busch, Jeff Gordon, Tony Stewart, Kevin Harvick, Denny Hamlin, Matt Kenseth, and Ryan Newman round out the top-10 qualifiers for Sunday’s race.

With 43 cars competing for 43 starting spots, no drivers were forced to head home following the session.

Subway Fresh Fit 500 Starting Lineup 

  1. Mark Martin 
  2. Kasey Kahne
  3. Jimmie Johnson
  4. Kyle Busch
  5. Jeff Gordon
  6. Tony Stewart
  7. Kevin Harvick
  8. Denny Hamlin
  9. Matt Kenseth
  10. Ryan Newman
  11. Brad Keselowski
  12. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  13. Clint Bowyer
  14. Martin Truex Jr.
  15. Carl Edwards
  16. Paul Menard
  17. Greg Biffle
  18. Aric Almirola
  19. Jamie McMurray
  20. Jeff Burton
  21. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  22. Marcos Ambrose
  23. AJ Allmendinger
  24. David Ragan
  25. Kurt Busch
  26. Dave Blaney
  27. JJ Yeley
  28. Scott Speed
  29. Juan Pablo Montoya
  30. Travis Kvapil
  31. David Gilliland
  32. Joey Logano
  33. Bobby Labonte
  34. David Reutimann
  35. Mike Bliss
  36. Josh Wise
  37. David Stremme
  38. Landon Cassill
  39. Scott Riggs
  40. Danica Patrick
  41. Joe Nemechek
  42. Ken Schrader
  43. Casey Mears


Comments are closed.