Sam Hornish Jr. finds victory in Las Vegas

When it’s your day, it’s just your day. And when you have a dominant racecar, it’s just makes things that much better.

Clearly on Saturday, it was Sam Hornish Jr.’s day at Las Vegas Motor Speedway as he cruised his way to victory in the Sam’s Town 300.

After rain limited track time for both the Sprint Cup and Nationwide Series cars, Saturday morning consisted of a short practice session for Nationwide teams to tune in their cars for the 300-mile race later in the afternoon.

“We had a really good racecar. The guys at Penske Racing gave me an awesome racecar,” said Hornish Jr. in victory lane after picking up his second career Nationwide Series win in 69 starts in the series.

“I’m only winded from getting in and out of the car and all that good stuff. The way that the car was handling was just perfect.

“Dreams are made on how cars like that run.”

Throughout the course of the day, Hornish Jr. was locked in a battle with the second place finish car of Kyle Busch, the all-time wins leader in the Nationwide Series.

The two battled hard on the final restart with seven laps to go, racing side-by-side around the 1.5-mile Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Hornish Jr. eventually powered around the outside of Busch’s Toyota, stretching out his lead and never looking back until the checkered flag flew.

“Kyle put up a heck of a fight,” said Hornish. “It was a real clean race.”

Hornish Jr. led a race-high 114 of the 200 laps on the day to claim the first victory for Penske Racing at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

By picking up his second-career Nationwide win, Hornish Jr. now sits atop the series championship standings by 19-points over Justin Allgaier and Elliott Sadler.

Sam’s Town 300 Unofficial Results 

  1. Sam Hornish Jr. 
  2. Kyle Busch
  3. Brian Vickers
  4. Trevor Bayne
  5. Elliott Sadler
  6. Austin Dillon
  7. Regan Smith
  8. Alex Bowman
  9. Brian Scott
  10. Travis Pastrana
  11. Ty Dillon
  12. Brad Sweet
  13. Nelson Piquet Jr.
  14. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  15. Justin Allgaier
  16. Reed Sorenson
  17. Mike Bliss
  18. Ryan Sieg
  19. Johanna Long
  20. Scott Lagasse Jr.
  21. Blake Koch
  22. Jamie Dick
  23. Dexter Stacey
  24. Hal Martin
  25. Josh Wise
  26. Jeffery Earnhardt
  27. Joe Nemechek
  28. Juan Carlos Blum
  29. Robert Richardson Jr.
  30. Parker Kligerman
  31. Daryl Harr
  32. Kyle Larson
  33. Joey Gase
  34. Mike Wallace
  35. Jason White
  36. Kevin Lepage
  37. Brad Keselowski
  38. Jeff Green
  39. Chase Miller
  40. Eric McClure