Pastrana sets fast time at Talladega

Travis Pastrana’s first full year in NASCAR’s Nationwide Series has been filled with ups and downs.

Maybe the biggest up of the the 2013 season came Friday at Talladega Superspeedway when he won the pole for Saturday’s Aaron’s 312.

Running a lap averaging over 176 mph around the 2.66-mile tri-oval, Pastrana won the first pole of his young NASCAR career at the sport’s biggest track.

The pole was also the first for Pastrana’s Roush Fenway Racing team at Talladega Superspeedway in the Nationwide Series.

The former action sports star will share the front row Saturday with 2012 Nationwide Rookie of the Year Austin Dillon.

Roush Fenway Racing teammate Trevor Bayne will start behind Pastrana in third, with Danica Patrick starting fourth driving for Tuner Scott Motorsports.

Justin Allgaier, Sam Hornish, Jr., Elliott Sadler, Brian Scott, Kurt Busch and John Wes Townley rounded out the top-10 starters for Saturday’s race.

However, Townley’s qualifying time was disallowed by NASCAR. Since Townley’s Venturini Motorsports team wasn’t high enough in owner’s points, his qualifying time was the only way he could make it into the starting field.

Townley’s No.25 Toyota was found to be “too low” in post-qualifying inspection.

Tim Andrews, substituting for the concussed Dexter Stacey, replaces Townley’s entry in the 40-car starting field.

Aaron’s 312 Starting Lineup 

  1. Travis Pastrana 
  2. Austin Dillon
  3. Trevor Bayne
  4. Danica Patrick
  5. Justin Allgaier
  6. Sam Hornish Jr.
  7. Elliott Sadler
  8. Brian Scott
  9. Kurt Busch
  10. Joey Coulter
  11. Kasey Kahne
  12. Joey Logano
  13. Jeff Green
  14. Alex Bowman
  15. Reed Sorenson
  16. Nelson Piquet Jr.
  17. Ty Dillon
  18. Parker Kligerman
  19. Kyle Larson
  20. Regan Smith
  21. Brian Vickers
  22. Landon Cassill
  23. Eric McClure
  24. Mike Bliss
  25. Johanna Long
  26. Bobby Gerhart
  27. Jeffrey Earnhardt
  28. Mike Harmon
  29. Jamie Dick
  30. Joe Nemechek
  31. Jason White
  32. Hal Martin
  33. Robert Richardson Jr.
  34. Blake Koch
  35. Morgan Shepard
  36. Donnie Neuenberger
  37. Jeremy Clements
  38. Mike Wallace
  39. Josh Wise
  40. Tim Andrews

Comments are closed.