Talladega qualifying rained out, Carl Edwards on pole

Carl Edwards will start on the pole position for Sunday’s Aaron’s 499 at Talladega Superspeedway after rain washed out Saturday’s qualifying session for the Sprint Cup Series.

Edwards will start on the pole based on the NASCAR rule book which states that in the event qualifying is cancelled, the starting lineup will be determined based off practice speeds from the first session on track.

With no lap of record being turned, Edwards’s pole position will not count as a qualifier for the 2014 Sprint Unlimted race at Daytona International Speedway.

Starting alongside Edwards on the front row will be Martin Truex Jr who was second-fastest in Friday’s opening practice.

Marcos Ambrose, Joey Logano, Ryan Newman, Matt Kenseth, Denny Hamlin, Jimmie Johnson, Jeff Gordon, and Kasey Kahne round out the top-10 starters for Sunday’s race.

Danica Patrick, who is racing the same car that carried her to an eighth-place finish in the Daytona 500, will start in twenty-second.

Defending race winner and 2012 Sprint Cup champion, Brad Keselowski, will start in eleventh.

Forty-four cars attempted to make the starting field which meant one car would fail to qualify.

Elliott Sadler, who despite posting the thirty-sixth and eleventh-fastest times in the practice sessions on Friday, missed the starting field in a fourth Joe Gibbs Racing entry.

Sadler failed to make the starting field due to the fact his No.81 had the least amount of qualifying attempts in 2013 of the drivers that were not locked into Sunday’s starting field.

Scattered rain showers are in the forecast for Sunday. NASCAR has access  this weekend to the newly developed Air Titan which decreases the amount of time it takes to dry the racing surface.

Aaron’s 499 Starting Lineup 

  1. Carl Edwards 
  2. Martin Truex Jr.
  3. Marcos Ambrose
  4. Joey Logano
  5. Ryan Newman
  6. Matt Kenseth
  7. Denny Hamlin
  8. Jimmie Johnson
  9. Jeff Gordon
  10. Kasey Kahne
  11. Brad Keselowski
  12. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  13. Kyle Busch
  14. Michael Waltrip
  15. Paul Menard
  16. Greg Biffle
  17. Aric Almirola
  18. David Ragan
  19. Clint Bowyer
  20. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  21. Casey Mears
  22. Danica Patrick
  23. Kevin Harvick
  24. Tony Stewart
  25. David Stremme
  26. Jamie McMurray
  27. Jeff Burton
  28. Juan Pablo Montoya
  29. David Gilliland
  30. Kurt Busch
  31. Regan Smith
  32. David Reutimann
  33. Bobby Labonte
  34. Dave Blaney
  35. Landon Cassill
  36. JJ Yeley
  37. Trevor Bayne
  38. Josh Wise
  39. Travis Kvapil
  40. Terry Labonte
  41. Michael McDowell
  42. Joe Nemechek
  43. Scott Speed