Sunday, September 19, 2021

Latest Posts

Both OSCAAR Modified And Super Late Models Divisions Look To Expand

After a successful 2013 season that saw a pair of back-to-back champions, all things are pointing towards an even better 2014 season. Both the OSCAAR Super Late Model and OSCAAR Modified divisions look to be expanding as we head into the new season.


For the OSCAAR Super Late Models, a lot of the front runners will be returning once again.

Two-time champion Brandon Watson will look to win his third championship in a row, though it won’t be an easy feat.

Andrew Gresel will be entering his sophomore season after an impressive rookie season that saw him finish second in points with four wins this year.

Derrike Tiemesma and Glenn Watson will lead the veteran charge into the new season, while Tyler Hawn will continue his hunt for his first career Super Late win.

Other returning drivers – but not limited to – include Todd Campbell, Gary Passer, Kyle Passer, Shane Gowan, Dwayne Baker and John Owen, among others.

Though beyond the returning faces, some fresh faces to the series will add a new flavor. Peterborough Speedway veteran Kelly Balson purchased a Super Late Model earlier this year and was out testing it already at Peterborough Speedway. The Late Model veteran will look to bring his experience to the table this coming season.

Dave Doucette will also be making the jump from the Thunder Car ranks to the OSCAAR ranks. The Thunder Car veteran sold his thunder car after finishing second in Barrie Speedway’s points this past season. Inside Track revealed at the beginning of the month that the 2007 Thunder Car Champion has purchased a Howe chassis in hopes to contend for Rookie of the Year and run the full schedule, if funds are there.

Expect the fields to reach 25 to 30 cars on any given week as they did a couple times throughout the 2013 season.


Though the Super Lates are the only division that is running strong. The Modifieds head into their third full season and the car counts look to continue to climb based on early indications.

Gary McLean will look to win the Modified championship for the third straight year in a row. Though it won’t be an easy feat as a tough field will look to take charge.

Brent McLean won a couple races this past season and finished second last year and will look to upset his uncle’s string of success.

Davey Terry, who finished third in points, will be looking for his first career Modified win, along with sophomore driver Branden Bullen. Bullen finished fourth in his rookie season. Fellow sophomore drivers Mike Westwood and Shane Stickel are also returning next season in search of the same success. Westwood has already started on building a new car for next year after selling his ‘red rocket’ – more on that later.

Other drivers that look to return include – but not limited to – Bobby Tolton, Brad Pearsall, Matt Barton, Ryan Dick, Brian McLean, Dean Scott and Dave Osbourne.

Though beyond the usual suspects, they’ll be a new face in the field. Entering his 46th season racing, Gary Elliott will hop up into the OSCAAR Modified ranks after success in both the Late Model and the Canadian Vintage Modified ranks. He bought the car piloted last year by Mike Westwood and will be unveiling it at the 2014 Canadian Motorsports Expo.


With both series looking to be at the top of their game, the 2014 season looks to be the biggest yet for OSCAAR. The schedule will be released in the spring – as normal – and look for the top drivers in Ontario to hit all the tracks across the province, taking their show on the road.

Latest Posts

Don't Miss