Tuesday, September 21, 2021

Latest Posts

Lane Zardo scores Super Stock victory at Sunset Speedway

“Happy Birthday Momma Zardo!”

On Saturday night at Sunset Speedway, Lane Zardo would score the hat trick on the way to delivering his first feature victory of the 2014 season. The victory marks an early birthday present for his mom Debbie Jo as she celebrates her birthday on Monday.

Zardo kicked off the night with a victory in the first heat behind the wheel of his No. 46 National Exhaust, Holmes on Homes, Smart Screen, Better Contracting, Big Chute Marina, J.A. Towing and Royal Purple Monte Carlo. Dennis Cybalski finished second, followed by Paul Geniole Jr., Tyler Liscum, Mike Weeda, Coltin Everingham and Nick Tooley.

Defending series champion Randy Rusnell scored the victory in the second heat ahead of Dan Archibald, Cayden Lapcevich, Chris Howse, Steve Cashmore, Stan Coe and Johnny Morrison.

All of the drivers would get a chance to run the ‘Dash for Cash’ for a shot at a bonus $75, which was set up by the finishing order of the heats. Zardo would start pole and while Rusnell tried all throughout the race to find a way by, he wasn’t able to as Zardo picked up the win. Archibald finished third, followed by Cybalski, Lapcevich, Geniole Jr., Howse, Liscum, Weeda, Cashmore, Coe and Everingham.

When it came time for the feature, Lane Zardo would draw pole ahead of Mike Weeda, Steve Cashmore, Nick Tooley, Tyler Liscum, Stan Coe, Coltin Everingham, Johnny Morrison, Paul Geniole Jr., Randy Rusnell, Steve Cashmore, Dennis Cybalski, Cayden Lapcevich, Chris Howse and Dan Archibald.

lane2Zardo would quickly grab the lead on the opening lap while Morrison headed down pit road with problems. Weeda held down the second spot in his new McColl Racing Enterprises chassis while Rusnell would make his way up to third by lap seven, followed by Cashmore, Lapcevich, Archibald, Liscum, Coe, Cybalski, Geniole Jr., Howse, Everingham and Tooley.

Rusnell continued his charge to front, passing Weeda for second while Zardo continued to lead, approximately a straight away ahead of the field. Spring Derby winner Lapcevich moved his way into fourth by lap 10 ahead of Cashmore, Liscum, Coe, Geniole Jr., Cybalski and Howse.  At halfway, the top seven ran single-file while Geniole Jr. moved into eighth ahead of Howse, Cybalski, Coe, Everingham and Tooley.

Rusnell continued searching for a way to track down Zardo while Lapcevich would move past Weeda at lap 18 to move into third. With 10 laps to go, Zardo continued to lead ahead of Rusnell, Lapcevich, Weeda and Archibald while Liscum had moved his way into sixth ahead of Geniole Jr., Cashmore, Cybalski and Howse. As Liscum made the pass, the caution would fly through as Archibald would make contact with Weeda, resulting in Weeda going for a spin. Weeda was hoping for a good run this week after running into mechanical problems on opening night.

On the restart, Zardo would get clear of Rusnell to take sole procession of the lead while Lapcevich ran third with Geniole Jr. up to fourth ahead of Liscum, Cybalski and Howse.  It wouldn’t be the last restart, though, as the caution flew again with six laps to go for Weeda going for another spin.

Lane Zardo would once again get another good restart, though, as he cleared Randy Rusnell off of turn two and led the final five laps on his way to victory. Cayden Lapcevich finished third, followed by Paul Geniole Jr., Dennis Cybalski, Tyler Liscum, Dan Archibald, Paul Howse, Steve Cashmore, Stan Coe, Mike Weeda, Coltin Everingham, Nick Tooley and Johnny Morrison.

Latest Posts

Don't Miss