Saturday, September 25, 2021

Latest Posts

ST: Jordan Howse scores first career victory in Mini Stock Velocity 250 at Sunset Speedway

He wasn’t the first driver to cross the finish line, but he was deemed your race winner. Andy Kamrath would cross the finish line first, though was deemed illegal in tech. As a result, Jordan Howse picked up his first career Mini Stock feature victory as part of the Velocity 250 at Sunset Speedway.


After running the qualifying heats on Saturday, the top 16 drivers were set. The rest of the field – 12 drivers – would be determined from a pair of consolation races.


The first would see three cautions before the completion. Treyten Lapcevich would have issues in turn two on lap one, Candiss Everingham would go for a spin in turn four on lap seven and Everingham would tangle with McLean in turn three on lap 11. 2013 Sunset Speedway Champion Warren Paxton picked up the victory to transfer, along with Jake Watson, Craig Kamrath, Kendra Adams, Nick Clarke and Scott Schuleter. Pete Gettliffe would miss the main event as he crossed the finish, side-by-side with Schuleter, just a bumper behind. Also loading the car on the trailer early would be J.P. Rosevear, Phil Givens, Jerry Noble, Trevor Hemingway, Lapcevich, Everingham and McLean.


The second consolation race would go to Charlie Smith with Gerritt Tiemermsa, Tim Tolton, Paul Boyd, Gehrig Halliday, Ken Townsend and Brian Wilson joining in the transfer. David Collins would be the first driver to miss the field ahead of Eric Rainey, Wendy Adams, James Horner, the 69 and Stefan Woyslaw.


Come feature time, Andy Kamrath would start pole and jumped out to the early lead. He would lead all 35 laps en route to crossing the checkered line first in dominating fashion. However, post-race tech, Kamrath would be DQ’d on a technical suspension violation.


Jordan Howse was able to start up front based on his good qualifying effort, and moved into the second spot in the early going. He followed Kamarth closely through lap traffic, weaving outside, inside and through with middle right on his tail. Howse would cross the line second, though would be credited with the victory after Kamrath’s DQ.


Spira Racing teammates Billy Schwartzenburg and Samantha Shaw would finish second and third after battling hard through the traffic with their fellow competitors and each other. Warren Paxton started 17th and drove his way all the way up through the field, passing Terry Woodley with two laps to go to finish fourth and score the hard charger award. Woodley would finish fifth, marking his first career top-five finish. Eric Yorke finished sixth, followed by Ben Melenhorst and Bryan Sudsbury.

Latest Posts

Don't Miss