Tuesday, September 28, 2021

Latest Posts

OSCAAR: Gary McLean dominates Hanover Holidays Modified Velocity 250 feature at Sunset Speedway


After taking the lead in the early going, Gary McLean didn’t look back as he would dominate en route to scoring the victory in the OSCAAR Hanover Holidays Modified Velocity 250 feature at Sunset Speedway.


Gary Elliott would start on the front row and took the lead early, though McLean would work his way to the front and pass Elliott for the advantage at lap four. The caution would then fly a lap later for debris in turn two. With 35 laps to go, Gary McLean led Elliott, Terry Baker, Davey Terry, Bobby Tolton, Dustin Jackson, Matt Barton, Brent McLean, Ryan Dick, Brian McLean, Steve Lyons, John Harper, Justin Demelo, Shane Stickel, Cory Horner, Justin Jones, Tommy Robb, Andre Pepin, Drew Stieler and the 19.


Gary McLean would get a good restart to stay ahead of Elliott while Terry would get by Baker to move into the fourth spot. Jackson also continued to move up as he and Barton were both able to get by Tolton for position before the caution flew at lap 21 for Brent McLean stalling on the backstretch. With 19 laps to go, Gary McLean led Elliott, Terry, Baker, Jackson, Barton, Tolton, Dick, Brian McLean, Stickel, Jones, Stieler, Pepin and Demelo.


It’d be another good restart for Gary McLean and Elliott as they were able to stay ahead of the field. Unfortunately, Davey Terry’s car would begin to fall off, resulting in a drop of positions as Baker, Barton, Dick and Jackson were able to get by before the third caution for Bobby Tolton going up in smoke at lap 29. With 11 laps to go, Gary McLean led Elliott, Baker, Barton, Dick, Jackson, Terry, Brian McLean, Jones, Stickel, Stieler, Lyons, Pepin, the 19, Demelo, Robb and Horner.


The restart wouldn’t go as Stieler would’ve liked as Stickel would make contact with Stieler, resulting in Stieler’s day ending with some broken front suspension parts.


Gary McLean would lead the final 11 laps en route to scoring the victory, inching closer to his third straight series championship. Gary Elliott kept up his solid rookie year with a second place finish, ahead of Matt Barton, Terry Baker and Dustin Jackson. Ryan Dick finished sixth, followed by Brian McLean, Davey Terry, Steve Lyons, Justin Jones, Tommy Robb, Justin Demelo, Shane Stickel, Andre Pepin and Cory Horner.

Latest Posts

Don't Miss