Tuesday, September 28, 2021

Latest Posts

ARCA: Cunningham and Scherer win prestigious Marcum Award at banquet

(INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – December 14, 2014) – Briggs Cunningham and Kerry Scherer formed a partnership two decades ago. Today, that partnership is alive and well in the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards.

On Saturday, ARCA President Ron Drager presented Cunningham and Scherer, owners of Cunningham Motorsports, the prestigious Marcum Award during the 2014 ARCA Racing Series national championship banquet in Indianapolis.

The award is named after the founders of ARCA, John and Mildred Marcum.

Cunningham and Scherer both came to the stage in the Sagamore Ballroom to accept the honor. Cunningham talked about some of the early days that he was involved in racing while Cunningham thanked the series for the honor.

“I’m honored,” he said. “I love ARCA and the people in this room. I’m genuinely honored.”

Cunningham Motorsports has been a successful driver development in the ARCA Racing Series for several years. Austin Wayne Self was awarded the SCOTT Rookie of the Year Saturday, the fourth time a Cunningham Motorsports driver has won the award in the past six years. Another of those winners, Parker Kligerman, was in attendance Saturday. The team also was recognized for Tom Hessert’s third-place finish in the final driver point standings and for Chad Bryant, the winner of the Cometic Crew Chief of the Year award.

Cunningham Motorsports made its debut in ARCA in 1996 and has 25 wins as a team to date – from Mark Gibson at Gateway in 1997 to Hessert at Salem in September.

Here is a list of the all-time Marcum Award winners, presented annually since 1982 to an individual or entity whose positive efforts have elevated ARCA’s motorsports stature to the benefit of all associated:

2014       Briggs Cunningham & Kerry Scherer

2013       James Hylton

2012       Darrell Basham

2011       Ken Schrader

2010       Bill & Cathy Venturini

2009       Bill Kimmel, Sr.

2008       Mike Allgaier

2007       Mark Gibson

2006       Julie Bowsher

2005       Bob Sargent

2004       Randy Morse

2003       Bobby Allison

2002       Benny Parsons

2001       Jim Clarke

2000       Bondo/Mar-Hyde Corp

1999       Racing Electronics

1998       Int’l Motorsports Hall of Fame

1997       Jack Bowsher

1996       The Bob Loga Family

1995       Grant Lynch

1994       Mildred Marcum

1993       STP Corporation

1992       Jim Foster

1991       Doc & Rose Mattioli, Pocono

1990       Bill Oldani, Illinois & DuQuoin

1989       Walter Nix, Atlanta Motor Speedway

1988       John Cooper, Daytona Int’l Speedway

1987       Dick Dolan, Unocal 76

1986       John Litton

1985       Jim Stovall

1984       Don Naman

1983       John Fox, Loctite Corp.

1982       Bob Dotter

Latest Posts

Don't Miss