Thursday, October 21, 2021

Latest Posts

ST: Full Throttle Motor Speedway Champions Honored at Short Track Night of Champions

As part of the Short Track Night of Champions at the Motorama Custom Car and Motorsports Show, the 2014 Full Throttle Motor Speedway Champions were honored.

Formally known as Varney Motorplex, Gord Bennett and family took over the track at the beginning of the season, rebranding it Full Throttle Motor Speedway. The result was tons of success with competition on each Friday night that kept the fans attention.

DSCF1037Open-Wheel Modified veteran Gary McLean would take home the open-wheel championship after visiting victory lane on multiple occasions.

“I would like to thank Gord and all of his family for putting that place back on the map,” McLean shared. “We had a lot of fun there. Excited for the OSCAAR Modifieds going there in 2015.”

McLean, a three-time champion of the OSCAAR Modifieds, will be leading the group in their trip to the oval this summer for the Rick Woolner Memorial.

Beyond experience, youth was also featured with Hayden Sim taking home the Jr. Late Model Championship.DSCF1040

“We had the car break in the first race, but the team worked hard and got it back fixed up and we were able to get the championship,” Sim shared. “Got to thank Gord for letting us come back some more, and run some Mini Truck stuff.”

Nick Ledson would take home the Legends Championship after dominating the division’s only night at the speedway in 2015. He mentioned that he would return in 2015 if a solid car count is there.

The Rockford Rednecks (pictured top) would take home the most unique championship – the trains. The trains division is unique in that there’s three cars chained together, with “the lead car has motor and tranny and brakes, the middle car has nothing, and the back car has all brakes”.

You just have to be nuts,” one of the team members commented.

Latest Posts

Don't Miss