DT: Davenport Dominates Clash at the Mag

COLUMBUS, MS (June 13, 2015) – Jonathan Davenport roared to his fifth series win of the season tonight in Magnolia Motor Speedway’s Clash at the Mag, presented by Columbus Convention and Visitors Bureau. Davenport took the lead on lap 17 of the 100-lap feature, and then went on to earn $20,000 in the K&L Rumley Enterprises, Longhorn Chassis.

Jared Landers charged from his 8th starting spot to finish second. He was followed by Jimmy Owens, Don O’Neal, and Brandon Sheppard.

“I can’t believe this,” said the current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Championship Points Leader, Davenport in Lucas Oil Victory Lane. “I have never had a car like this in my life! It drives so well! The only way we can lose right now is if I mess up. I am so thankful to Kevin and Leeroy Rumley, Bryan Liverman and everybody back at the shop at Longhorn Chassis. We are a rarity in late model racing, building our own engines and chassis. I can’t thank Bobby and Terry Labonte enough for what they have done for our team.”

Scott Bloomquist led the first 16 laps of the event until Davenport passed him for the top spot. Sheppard then moved into second with Landers close behind. Landers made his move for second after a lap 24 restart.

“We got up on top and the car was just phenomenal. The track crew watered the top a little bit before the start of the race and it seemed to help. I kept pounding that cushion and at the same time was trying to keep it out of the wall. The tires held up really well. We are on a roll and looking forward to Fayetteville on Thursday Night!”

“I would also like to thank TS Crane Service, Sundance Services, Sundance Flowback Well Testing, Mega Plumbing of the Carolinas, JRi Shocks, and Bryson Motorsports. Without all of them, we wouldn’t be able to do this!”

Landers continued his recent resurgence by finishing second. “We had a really good race car. That was quite a race for second place all race long. Nobody has anything for that number six car right now! We are making a tremendous amount of progress on this Sweet-Bloomquist car. We are getting closer to a win.”

“I’d like to thank my dad and all of our sponsors, Crop Production Services, Bad Boy Mowers, Mark Martin Automotive, ACS Warranty, and everyone else associated with the team.”

Owens took home the third spot and was pleased with his effort. “We ran pretty well this weekend. That was a dandy of a race for second, but right now we are all running for second. Jonathan is just flat out kicking our tails. I have been there. I know how it feels. Hopefully we can beat him next weekend. A big thanks to Bryan Rowland, Widow Wax, Sunoco, Red Line Oil, Keyser, Ford, and Midwest Sheet Metal for all of their help.”

Completing the top ten were Eddie Carrier Jr., Dennis Erb Jr., Mike Marlar, Bub McCool, and Wendell Wallace.

In preliminary action, Scott Bloomquist set a new Magnolia Motor Speedway Track Record and the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group B) amongst the 43 entrants, with a lap of 12.961 seconds. He became the first driver to at the track to clock in less than 13 seconds in qualifying. Jimmy Owens set the fastest time in Group A with a time of 13.087 seconds. Jimmy Owens, Devin Moran, Scott Bloomquist, and Jonathan Davenport won their respective heat races. Ronny Lee Hollingsworth and Randy Weaver won their respective B-Mains.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and follow the series at www.facebook.com/lucasdirt, www.twitter.com/lucasdirt, and www.instagram.com/lucasdirt.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Saturday, June 13th, 2015
Clash at the Mag
Magnolia Motor Speedway – Columbus, MS

Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Jimmy Owens / 13.087 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Scott Bloomquist / 12.961 seconds ***NEW TRACK RECORD***

Eibach Springs Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jimmy Owens, Don O’Neal, Dennis Erb, Jr., Jimmy Cliburn, Jason Hiett, Dwight Falcon, Jamie Elam, David Breazeale, Dylan Ames, Scott Dedwylder, Chase Washington

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Devin Moran, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Bub McCool, Brian Rickman, Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, Chad Thrash, Earl Pearson, Jr., Chris Simpson, Robbie Stuart, Jamie Tollison, Justin McRee

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Brandon Sheppard, Henry Cooper, Steve Francis, Randy Weaver, Jason Cliburn, Darren Joyner, Howard Means, Chris McElhenney, Rick Rickman, Leon Henderson-DNS

QA1 Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jonathan Davenport, Jared Landers, Wendell Wallace, Mike Marlar, Garrett Alberson, Chris Brown, Eric Cooley, Austin Arnold, Neil Baggett, Hunter Rasdon

Fast Shafts B-Main #1 Finish (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, Jason Hiett, Chad Thrash, David Breazeale, Chris Simpson, Dylan Ames, Robbie Stuart, Earl Pearson, Jr., Jamie Tollison, Jamie Elam, Scott Dedwylder, Dwight Falcon, Chase Washington-DNS, Justin McRee-DNS

Keyser MFG B-Main #2 Finish (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Randy Weaver, Neil Baggett, Chris Brown, Eric Cooley, Rick Rickman, Jason Cliburn, Garrett Alberson, Darren Joyner, Austin Arnold-DNS, Chris McElhenney-DNS, Hunter Rasdon-DNS, Leon Henderson-DNS, Howard Means-DNS