Winners of first 2 Chase races head Home

From the Crossville Chronicle – Crossville, Tn. Friday September 28, 2007

By Joe Dunn /
The third stop on the Chase for the Nextel Cup Championship is home for Clint Bowyer and Carl Edwards, who were the winners of the first two races. Neither driver has won a NASCAR NEXTEL Cup or NASCAR Busch Series event at Kansas, although Edwards won the ’04 NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series event there.
Edwards’ win at Dover bumped him up to third in the points, but the post race inspection found the right rear of the car too low. The 25 point penalty issued Tuesday dropped him to 6th place, but he is still within striking distance. Carl’s point lead in the Busch series makes it all but a certain championship. That combined with his chances to win the Nextel Cup Championship could spell another mark in the Nascar record book, no driver has ever captured both crowns in the same season.
Also on Tuesday it was announced that Coors Light will replace Budweiser as the official Beer of Nascar starting with the 2008 season. The new contract does not effect the Bud shootout and does not have anything to do with the title sponsorship of the Busch series.
Art Harris, gasman for the #55 team of Michael Waltrip was treated and released from a Dover area hospital Sunday after being struck by a wheel on pit road during Sundays race. His condition is listed as Day by day pending evaluation by his physician in North Carolina.
Chicagoland Speedway announced Tuesday that they will be installing lighting for the 2008 season and the schedule for next year will include night races, July 11 and 12 for the Busch and Sprint Cup series. Kansas Speedway also announced Tuesday that they have submitted a plan for a Casino to be constructed on Speedway owned property. The plan calls for a partnership with Baltimore based Cordish Company to build a Casino, Hotel, Entertainment and retail Outlets. The initial cost is expected to be more than $600 Million with no public funds.

In local action, last Friday, Anthony White survived the caution filled Rogers Group, Advance Auto Parts Thunder Series, Super Late Model race at Wartburg Speedway to take the checkered flag and the $3,000 payout. Other winners included Mark Rosner – Sportsman, Jason Manley – Pure Mini, Jonathan Sims – Pure Street and JD Rector of Crossville in the front Wheel Drive class.
On Saturday night, Spring City Raceway saw another big crowd as several new drivers have been arriving as many tracks are closing for the season. Results from Saturday night are as follows: Modified Street – 1. Larry Higgins, 2. Mike Selby, 3. Bruce Davenport –Super Street -1. Steve Welch, 2. Taylor Sutton, 3. Rusty Caraway –LLM -1. Jim Bolen, 2. Junior Robinette, 3. AJ Russell –Street Stock – 1. Joe Godsey, 2. Charlie Godsey, 3. Yoder Godsey–Super Mini – 1. Ronnie Shelton, 2. Kenny Lemons, 3. Joseph Howell –FWD – 1. Chad Pugh, 2. Daniel Sizemore, 3. Roy Baker
Tomorrow night, Saturday September 29, Spring City Raceway will host the HI TECH Construction / NAPA auto Parts of Dayton $1000 to win Limited Late Model race as well as a full card of racing to begin at 7 pm EDT.
I spoke with the folks from Crossville Raceway earlier in the week and they informed me that they do intend to hold a banquet / awards dinner for the top 5 finishers in each class. I will post the information as it is received.