NSCS: Kasey Kahne Wins Pole for Sunday’s Goody’s 500

MARTINSVILLE, Va. – Kasey Kahne won his second pole of the season by earning the top spot for Sunday’s running of the Goody’s Fast Relief 500 at Martinsville Speedway.

Kahne won the pole at Las Vegas Motor Speedway earlier in the month, and the Hendrick Motorsports driver added another after his lap of 97.128 mph around the .526-mile ‘paperclip’.

Since 2006, Kahne has won 18 career NASCAR Sprint Cup Series poles, the most of any driver during that span.

The defending race winner, Kevin Harvick, will line up second in the 63rd annual race, followed by Denny Hamlin, Clint Bowyer and Ryan Newman to round out the top-five.

“It was a really solid lap, we didn’t have the most speed yesterday, but the car felt really stable going around the track and it did again today,” said an enthusiastic Kahne.

“I’m glad we could start up front and have the number one pit stall because that is the important here and hopefully we will have a good day tomorrow.”

Harvick’s second place start marks his fourth top-10 start of 2012, and his 11th top-10 start in 22 races at Martinsville Speedway.

Green flag is scheduled for 1:13 p.m. Sunday afternoon.

Goody’s Fast Relief 500 – Starting Lineup: 

  1. Kasey Kahne
  2. Kevin Harvick
  3. Denny Hamlin
  4. Clint Bowyer
  5. Ryan Newman
  6. Brian Vickers
  7. Brad Keselowski
  8. Kyle Busch
  9. Jeff Gordon
  10. Joey Logano
  11. Paul Menard
  12. Marcos Ambrose
  13. Martin Truex Jr.
  14. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  15. Tony Stewart
  16. Bobby Labonte
  17. Regan Smith
  18. Jeff Burton
  19. Aric Almirola
  20. Jamie McMurray
  21. Matt Kenseth
  22. Jimmie Johnson
  23. Michael McDowell
  24. David Ragan
  25. Casey Mears
  26. Greg Biffle
  27. A.J. Allmendinger
  28. Carl Edwards
  29. David Reutimann
  30. Josh Wise
  31. Landon Cassill
  32. Juan Pablo Montoya
  33. Scott Riggs
  34. Travis Kvapil
  35. Reed Sorenson
  36. Ken Schrader
  37. Joe Nemechek
  38. David Gilliland
  39. David Stremme
  40. Kurt Busch
  41. Hermie Sadler
  42. Dave Blaney
  43. J.J. Yeley