Truck qualifying washed out at Texas, field set by points

Jamey Price/Getty Images for NASCAR

For the first time in 2012, the Camping World Truck Series saw their qualifying session cancelled as rain soaked the Texas Motor Speedway throughout the day Thursday.

Although qualifying wasn’t set to take place until 7 p.m. ET, NASCAR cancelled the session in attempt to run a practice session before Friday night’s WinStar World Casino 400k.

With no practice being held before the session was canceled, the field was set by the NASCAR rule book with 2012 owner points determining the starting lineup.

Series points leader ,Justin Lofton, was awarded the number one starting position.

Lofton, who won the last time the Truck Series raced at a 1.5-mile track (Charlotte Motor Speedway), will start on the pole position for the first time in his Truck Series career.

Defending race winner, Ron Hornaday Jr., will start from the ninth position Friday night.

Only 35 trucks were on the entry list for Friday’s race, which means that all 35 drivers will start the 167 lap race.

WinStar World Casino 400k—Starting Lineup 

  1. Justin Lofton
  2. Timothy Peters
  3. Ty Dillon
  4. James Buescher
  5. Parker Kligerman
  6. Brendan Gaughan
  7. Todd Bodine
  8. Nelson Piquet Jr.
  9. Ron Hornaday Jr.
  10. Matt Crafton
  11. Joey Coulter
  12. John Wes Townley
  13. Jason White
  14. Brandon Knupp
  15. Miguel Paludo
  16. Cale Gale
  17. David Starr
  18. Jason Leffler
  19. Dakoda Armstrong
  20. Johnny Sauter
  21. Max Gresham
  22. Paulie Harraka
  23. Ross Chastain
  24. Bryan Silas
  25. Ryan Sieg
  26. B.J. McLeod
  27. Brent Raymer
  28. Johnny Chapman
  29. Jennifer Jo Cobb
  30. Norm Benning
  31. Scott Stenzel
  32. Rick Crawford
  33. Mike Harmon
  34. Brandon Miller
  35. Chris Lafferty