Austin Dillon grabs Nationwide pole at Kentucky

For the second time in 2012, Austin Dillon will start on the pole after winning the top spot in qualifying for Friday night’s Feed the Children 300 at Kentucky Speedway.

Dillon, who was the forty-third of 44 drivers to take time, won the pole with a lap of  172.119 mph on the slick Kentucky Speedway.

“First lap I over-drove just a little bit,” said Dillon to the Speed crew after his lap. “Getting into [turn] one, I chattered the tires just a little bit.

“Second lap I was kind of worried because we were slower all day on the second lap. Ended up working out for us.”

Dillon was able to knock-off his Richard Childress Racing teammate, Kevin Harvick, for the top spot.

The pole marks the first time the 22-year-old will start from the top spot at the Kentucky Speedway in his young NASCAR Nationwide Series career.

Slick track conditions due to the excessive heat forced numerous drivers to struggle to find the all important grip needed to turn an all-out lap needed to place high on the qualifying sheet.

“The good thing is, we’ve been tight the whole weekend so the track should just come to us,” continued Dillon. “As the track cools down, it should get the tires turning.”

Rounding out the top-10 starters for the race will be; Brad Keselowski, Sam Hornish Jr., Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Denny Hamlin, Justin Allgaier, Kurt Busch, Michael Annett, and Cole Whitt.

With only 44 cars attempting to qualifying, one driver missed the starting field.

After a lazy spin in turn four on his first qualifying lap, John Jackson was never able to recover and missed the starting field.

Feed the Children 300 Starting Lineup: 

1: Austin Dillon

2: Kevin Harvick

3: Brad Keselowski

4: Sam Hornish Jr.

5: Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

6: Denny Hamlin

7: Justin Allgaier

8: Kurt Busch

9: Michael Annett

10: Cole Whitt

11: Danica Patrick

12: Elliott Sadler

13: James Buescher

14: Ryan Blaney

15: Brian Scott

16: Jamie Dick

17: Mike Bliss

18: Josh Richards

19: Jason Bowles

20: Brad Sweet

21: Jeremy Clements

22: Scott Speed

23: Tanner Berryhill

24: Joe Nemechek

25: Reed Sorenson

26: Kenny Wallace

27: Danny Efland

28: Jeff Green

29: Scott Riggs

30: Timmy Hill

31: Chase Miller

32: Tim Andrews

33: Tayler Malsam

34: Mike Wallace

35: Erik Darnell

36: Morgan Shepard

37: TJ Bell

38: Josh Wise

39: Kevin Lepage

40: Eric McClure

41: Jamie Mosley

42: Johanna Long

43: Blake Koch