D.J. Kennington scores fifth straight NASCAR Canadian Tire Series victory in a row in Saskatoon

When a driver gets on a roll, it’s sometimes hard to get them off of that streak. That could be said for D.J. Kennington as he won the Velocity Prarie Thunder presented by Bayer Crop Science for his fifth straight NASCAR Canadian Tire Series presented by Mobile 1 victory in a row.

The win at Auto Clearing Speedway for Kennington extends the series record for consecutive victories and puts him atop the list of career series victories, with 16. Kennington also becomes the first driver to multiple-times on the 0.333 mile oval after scoring the victory in 2010.

Kennington would gain the lead from Jason Hathaway on a lap 195 restart when Hathaway ran into mechanical problems. He then hold off Mark Dilley for the win, despite contact between the pair in turn three on the last lap.

Dilley finished second for his second top five of 2012 in four starts while J.R. Fitzpatrick finished third for his fifth top five finish of the season. Defending series champion Scott Steckly finished fourth wit Ron Beauchamp Jr. rounded out the top five.

Jim White finished sixth, followed by Andrew Ranger, L.P. Dumoulin, Nick Jewell and Martin Roy.

Kennington now leads the point standings 41 points over Steckly while Ranger sits third, followed by Fitzpatrick and Hathaway.

The Velocity Prairie Thunder presented by Bayer Crop Science will be telecast by TSN2 on Saturday, Aug. 4 at 6:30 p.m. ET and RDS2 on Sunday, Sept. 2 at 6:30 p.m. ET.

The next event for the NASCAR Canadian Tire Series presented by Mobil 1 will be the Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres (Que.) on Aug. 3-5.


Fin Str Car Driver Team Laps Points B/Points Status
1 5 17 D.J. Kennington Castrol Edge/Mahindra Tractors Dodge 250 47 4 Running
2 2 02 Mark Dilley Leland/BDI/PartSource Ford 250 42 Running
3 1 84 J.R. Fitzpatrick Equipment Express Chevrolet 250 43 2 Running
4 7 22 Scott Steckly Canadian Tire Dodge 250 41 1 Running
5 12 24 Jim White AW Millwrights/New Life Feeds Dodge 250 39 Running
6 8 27 Andrew Ranger Pizza 73/GC Motorsports Dodge 250 38 Running
7 11 47 L.P. Dumoulin WeatherTech Canada/Bellemare Dodge 250 37 Running
8 6 60 Ron Beauchamp, Jr. Mopar/Exide/Mobil 1 Dodge 250 36 Running
9 14 51 Nick Jewell * Prairie Dodge Dealers/Sikkens Dodge 249 35 Running
10 3 90 Martin Roy * Veloce/Battery Expert Dodge 248 34 Running
11 22 44 Jarrad Whissell SMS Equipment/Komatsu Ford 246 33 Running
12 16 11 Mike Scholz * Jiffy Car Wash/Watchfinder.ca Chevrolet 245 32 Running
13 17 09 Ryley Seibert * Lake Excavating Ford 245 31 Running
14 13 46 Dan Shirley * Saskatoon Co-op/Turtle Wax Chevrolet 245 30 Running
15 15 33 Bob De Lorme * Deerfoot Mechanical Chevrolet 244 29 Running
16 18 5 Noel Dowler EMCO-Kohler/Rheem Dodge 243 28 Running
17 21 49 Jason Hankewich * Hankewich Motorsports Dodge 243 27 Running
18 4 48 Nathan Weenk Mid West Combustion Chevrolet 238 26 Running
19 19 14 James Van Domselaar Steel-Craft Door Products Chevrolet 231 25 Running
20 20 21 Jason White A&W/Bower&Wilkins Dodge 214 24 Running
21 9 3 Jason Hathaway Snap-on Tools/Rockstar/Vortex Dodge 195 24 1 Suspension
22 10 69 Trevor Seibert Lake Excavating Dodge 148 22 Engine
About Ashley McCubbin 3102 Articles
Joining OnPitRoad.com mid-2013 season, Ashley McCubbin is now the Managing Editor and contributes to each racing division as needed. Since studying journalism at the University of Guelph-Humber, Ashley has published articles on a couple of different websites, while serving as a public relations representative for different short track teams. Born in North York, Ontario, Ashley currently lives in Bradford, Ontario and spends her weekend at the local short tracks in the area. She has spent her entire life at the short track level, falling in love with the sport at the age of five. Beyond her love of short track racing, she also has grown an interest for both NASCAR and the IndyCar Racing Series. She also enjoys taking photos and working on websites, while playing a couple rounds of Candy Crush afterwards.