Alex Tagliani on the pole for Montreal

For the first time in his NASCAR Nationwide Series career, Alex Tagliani will start on the pole after winning the pole Friday for Saturday’s Napa Auto Parts 200 at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve.

Tagliani, who went out in the seventh out of eight groups of drivers in the session, won the pole with a lap of 96.688 mph around the 2.71-mile road course.

This is the second Nationwide Series start for the former Indianapolis 500 pole sitter, who finished second behind Marcos Ambrose driving for Penske Racing, will make his first start for Tuner Motorsports in the No.30 Chevrolet.

Sam Hornish Jr. topped the list of Nationwide Series regulars in the session, putting his Penske Racing Dodge in the second position one spot ahead of the driver of the No.22 this weekend, Jacques Villeneuve.

Danica Patrick, Owen Kelly (who subbed in the No.54 for Kyle Busch who will make the trip to Montreal from Michigan), Michael McDowell, Cole Whitt, Ron Fellows, Billy Johnson, Brian Scott round out the top-10 starters for Saturday’s event at the famous road course.

One driver failed to make the starting field. Randy Ellis’ lap at 90.309 mph wasn’t quick enough to make the 43-car starting field.

NAPA Auto Parts 200 Starting Lineup: 

1: Alex Tagliani

2: Sam Hornish Jr.

3: Jacques Villeneuve

4: Danica Patrick

5: Owen Kelly (Subbed for Kyle Busch)

6: Michael McDowell

7: Cole Whitt

8: Ron Fellows

9: Billy Johnson

10: Brian Scott

11: Brendan Gaughan

12: Andrew Ranger

13: Patrick Carpentier

14: Eric Curran

15: Justin Allgaier

16: Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

17: Elliott Sadler

18: Jason Bowles

19: Austin Dillon

20: Alex Kennedy

21: Brad Sweet

22: Mike Wallace

23: Mike Bliss

24: Chris Cook

25: Jeff Green

26: Jeremy Clements

27: Kyle Kelley

28: Kenny Habul

29: Timmy Hill

30: Blake Koch

31: Daryl Harr

32: Tayler Malsam

33: Michael Annett

34: Erik Darnell

35:  Louis-Phillipe Dumoulin

36: Tim Andrews

37: John Young

38: Dexter Stacey

39: Tony Raines

40: Chase Miller

41: Eric McClure

42: Derek White

43: Matt DiBenedetto