AAA 400 race day preview

What You Need To Know 

Track: Dover International Speedway, Dover, DE

Track Specs: 1-mile oval, banking at 24°

Race Distance: 400 laps ; 400 miles

Scheduled Green Flag Time: 2:16 p.m. ET

Weather Forecast: Sunny, 74° with a 20-percent chance of rain

Broadcast Television: ESPN with coverage starting at 1 p.m. ET

Radio: Motor Racing Network/ Sirius XM Radio Channel 90

Things to Keep an Eye On 

-Starting off the Chase with back-to-back second place finishes, Sprint Cup Series points leader Jimmie Johnson revisits the track where he lead 268 of the 400 laps back in June when he won. In 21 career starts at Dover, Johnson has seven victories.

-There’s been a lot of talk this weekend about Denny Hamlin’s love/hate relationship with Dover International Speedway. In 13 starts at Dover, Hamlin has only recorded four top-10 finishes with his best finish being fourth in 2010. This weekend however has been better for Hamlin after winning the pole for Sunday’s race.

-In the past 10 races at Dover, six different drivers have visited victory lane. Kyle Busch and Johnson are the only drivers to repeat as winners during that span.

This Weekend’s News 

– It was announced earlier in the week that Kurt Busch would take over the No.78 Chevrolet for Furniture Row Racing in 2013. Recently however, the team made official that Busch will take over driving duties of the car following next weekend’s race at Talladega Superspeedway.

– NASCAR confirmed Saturday that testing will return for the Sprint Cup Series in 2013 with the new car coming into play. Each Cup Series organization will have the option to test at four NASCAR sanctioned race tracks (not counting the pre-season test at Daytona International Speedway Jan. 10-12, 2013). The tests are based off organization and not individual teams.

– For the 2013 season, Danica Patrick will have a new voice in hear ear as will her Stewart Haas Racing teammate Ryan Newman. Competition Director for SHR, Greg Zipadelli, confirmed on Saturday that Tony Gibson, who currently serves as crew chief for the No.39 of Newman, will take over crew chief duties for Patrick in 2013. No replacement for Gibson on the No.39 team has been named for the time being.

Fantasy Racing Picks

“A” Driver: Jimmie Johnson

“B” Drivers: Greg Biffle, Martin Truex Jr.

“C” Driver: Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

AAA 400 Starting Lineup 

1: Denny Hamlin

2: Clint Bowyer

3: Martin Truex Jr.

4: Sam Hornish Jr.

5: Kyle Busch

6: Greg Biffle

7: Jeff Gordon

8: Ryan Newman

9: Brad Keselowski

10: Kasey Kahne

11: Jimmie Johnson

12: Matt Kenseth

13: Kevin Harvick

14: Joey Logano

15: Carl Edwards

16: Bobby Labonte

17: Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

18: Regan Smith

19: Paul Menard

20: Jamie McMurray

21: Aric Almirola

22: Landon Cassill

23: Josh Wise

24: Tony Stewart

25: Dale Earnhardt Jr.

26: Mark Martin

27: Marcos Ambrose

28: Kurt Busch

29: Reed Sorenson

30: Casey Mears

31: David Ragan

32: Michael McDowell

33: Travis Kvapil

34: Scott Speed

35: Juan Pablo Montoya

36: Scott Riggs

37: Joe Nemechek

38: Danica Patrick

39: Jeff Burton

40: JJ Yeley

41: TJ Bell

42: David Gilliland

43: Dave Blaney