Saturday, September 25, 2021

Latest Posts

Logano dominates at Dover, again

By: NASCAR Wire Service 

The steep concrete banks of Dover aside, Saturday’s OneMain Financial 200 was hardly a cliffhanger, as Joey Logano dominated the proceedings from start to finish in winning his seventh NASCAR Nationwide Series race of the season.

Momentarily, at least, a caution on Lap 177 for Tim Andrews’ blown engine injected a modicum of suspense, but Logano reasserted his superiority after a restart on Lap 182 and pulled away for his second victory at the Monster Mile and the 16th of his career.

Logano, who led 184 of 200 laps, crossed the finish line .876 seconds ahead of runner-up Paul Menard. Michael Annett ran third, and Elliott Sadler increased his series lead to nine points over defending champion Ricky Stenhouse Jr., who finished ninth. Kyle Busch completed the top five.

By the time NASCAR called a planned competition caution on Lap 46, Logano had opened a lead of roughly three seconds. Kasey Kahne took over the top spot with a two-tire call under the yellow, but Logano regained the lead moments after a restart on Lap 51.

The driver of the No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota held the point until the second caution of the afternoon — resulting from oil on the track from Jeremy Clements’ car–slowed the field on Lap 116. The brief interruption, however, didn’t slow Logano, who took off again from a restart on Lap 124 and built a lead of 1.5 seconds over Justin Allgaier.

Here are the full NASCAR Nationwide Series results from today’s race at Dover:

  1. Joey Logano
  2. Paul Menard
  3. Michael Annett
  4. Elliott Sadler
  5. Kyle Busch
  6. Cole Whitt
  7. Brian Scott
  8. Kasey Kahne
  9. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  10. Austin Dillon
  11. Mike Bliss
  12. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  13. Ryan Blaney
  14. Ryan Truex
  15. Jeff Green
  16. Danica Patrick
  17. Joe Nemechek
  18. Sam Hornish Jr.
  19. Alex Bowman
  20. Jason Bowles
  21. Mike Wallace
  22. Blake Koch
  23. JJ Yeley
  24. Timmy Hill
  25. Jamie Dick
  26. Eric McClure
  27. Jeremy Clements
  28. Brad Teague
  29. Tim Andrews
  30. Justin Allgaier
  31. Erik Darnell
  32. Justin Jennings
  33. Tony Raines
  34. Kevin Lepage
  35. Danny Efland
  36. Scott Riggs
  37. Carl Long
  38. Chase Miller
  39. Josh Wise
  40. Michael McDowell
  41. T.J. Bell
  42. Kelly Bires
  43. Charles Lewandoski

Latest Posts

Don't Miss