Saturday, October 16, 2021

Latest Posts

Daytona 500 qualifying order set

In with the old, out with the new. That’s the formula for NASCAR qualifying this season as the sport reverts back to the random draw to set the order in which drivers will make their timed laps of record in qualifying.

Last season, qualifying order was set based on practice speeds with the slowest car qualifying first and the fastest going last. But much like anything in auto racing, teams found a way around the system and began to manipulate the order so optimal track conditions for their qualifying lap.

But, that’s all in the past now and qualifying for the 55th Daytona 500 will be based on the random draw for Sunday afternoon’s session at 1 p.m. ET where drivers will take two timed laps with the fastest one counting to setting the field for Thursday’s Budweiser Duels.

Two drivers will be guaranteed a staring position for the Daytona 500; the first and second place driver in the session.

Here’s the order in which the 45 cars will take time tomorrow afternoon

  1. #14 Tony Stewart (Stewart-Haas Racing) Chevrolet 
  2. #19 Mike Bliss (Humphrey-Smith Racing) Toyota
  3. #18 Kyle Busch (Joe Gibbs Racing) Toyota
  4. # 56 Martin Truex Jr. (Michael Waltrip Racing) Toyota
  5. #32 Terry Labonte (FAS Lane Racing) Ford
  6. #13 Casey Mears (Germain Racing) Ford
  7. #98 Michael McDowell (Phil Parsons Racing) Ford
  8. #10 Danica Patrick (Stewart-Haas Racing) Chevrolet
  9. #43 Aric Almirola (Richard Petty Motorsports) Ford
  10. #93 Travis Kvapil (BK Racing) Toyota
  11. #55 Mark Martin (Michael Waltrip Racing) Toyota
  12. #36 JJ Yeley (Tommy Baldwin Racing) Chevrolet
  13. ##7 Dave Blaney (Tommy Baldwin Racing) Chevrolet
  14. #39 Ryan Newman (Stewart-Haas Racing) Chevrolet
  15. #9 Marcos Ambrose (Richard Petty Motorsports) Ford
  16. #27 Paul Menard (Richard Childress Racing) Chevrolet
  17. #47 Bobby Labonte (JTG Daugherty Racing) Toyota
  18. #1 Jamie McMurray (Earnhardt Ganassi Racing) Chevrolet
  19. #17 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (Roush Fenway Racing) Ford
  20. #83 David Reutimann (BK Racing) Toyota
  21. #16 Greg Biffle (Roush Fenway Racing) Ford
  22. #15 Clint Bowyer (Michael Waltrip Racing) Toyota
  23. #33 Austin Dillon (Richard Childress Racing) Chevrolet
  24. #11 Denny Hamlin (Joe Gibbs Racing) Toyota
  25. #26 Michael Waltrip (Swan Racing) Toyota
  26. #88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. (Hendrick Motorsports) Chevrolet
  27. #51 Regan Smith (Phoenix Racing) Chevrolet
  28. #87 Joe Nemechek (Nemco-JRR) Toyota
  29. #24 Jeff Gordon (Hendrick Motorsports) Chevrolet
  30. #20 Matt Kenseth (Joe Gibbs Racing) Toyota
  31. #2 Brad Keselowski (Penske Racing) Ford
  32. #38 David Gilliland (Front Row Motorsports) Ford
  33. #48 Jimmie Johnson (Hendrick Motorsports) Chevrolet
  34. #95 Scott Speed (Leavine Family Racing) Ford
  35. #22 Joey Logano (Penske Racing) Ford
  36. #31 Jeff Burton (Richard Childress Racing) Chevrolet
  37. #5 Kasey Kahne (Hendrick Motorsports) Chevrolet
  38. #52 Brian Keselowski (Brian Keselowski Racing) Toyota
  39. #34 David Ragan (Front Row Motosports) Ford
  40. #21 Trevor Bayne (Wood Brothers Racing) Ford
  41. #29 Kevin Harvick (Richard Childress Racing) Chevrolet
  42. #78 Kurt Busch (Furniture Row Racing) Chevrolet
  43. #35 Josh Wise (Front Row Motorsports) Ford
  44. #99 Carl Edwards (Roush Fenway Racing) Ford
  45. #42 Juan Pablo Montoya (Earnhardt Ganassi) Chevrolet

Latest Posts

Don't Miss