Friday, October 15, 2021

Latest Posts

Johnson wins Martinsville pole

It shouldn’t come as a shock, but Jimmie Johnson is once again fast at Martinsville Speedway.

The seven-time winner at the half-mile track broke the previous track record during Friday’s qualifying session to win the pole for Sunday’s STP Gas Booster 500.

Johnson’s qualifying lap of 98.400 mph edged Marcos Ambrose who held the top-spot throughout the majority of the session.

“Car was fast right off the truck,” said Johnson. “I’m happy I was able to do my part and back it up in qualifying and got us the pole.”

This is Johnson’s first pole of the 2013 season and his third time winning the award at Martinsville Speedway.

Johnson’s former teammate at Hendrick Motorsports, Mark Martin (who is subbing for the injured Denny Hamlin), qualified the No.11 Toyota in the thirty-fifth position for Sunday’s race.

Friday was the first time Martin had competed at Martinsville Speedway, a track he has won twice, since 2011 when he finished twenty-eighth.

Sprint Cup Series points leader, Dale Earnhardt Jr., qualified his Chevrolet in seventeenth.

Mike Bliss was the only driver to fail to qualify for the race.

Johnson, Ambrose, Brian Vickers, Joey Logano, Kasey Kahne, Jeff Gordon, Brad Keselowski, Matt Kenseth, Carl Edwards, and defending race winner Ryan Newman make up the top-10 starters for Sunday’s race.

STP Gas Booster 500 Starting Lineup 

  1. Jimmie Johnson 
  2. Marcos Ambrose
  3. Brian Vickers
  4. Joey Logano
  5. Kasey Kahne
  6. Jeff Gordon
  7. Brad Keselowski
  8. Matt Kenseth
  9. Carl Edwards
  10. Ryan Newman
  11. Kyle Busch
  12. Martin Truex Jr.
  13. Jamie McMurray
  14. Juan Pablo Montoya
  15. Clint Bowyer
  16. Paul Menard
  17. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  18. Regan Smith
  19. Kurt Busch
  20. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  21. Kevin Harvick
  22. Greg Biffle
  23. David Ragan
  24. David Stremme
  25. Travis Kvapil
  26. Tony Stewart
  27. Michael McDowell
  28. Scott Speed
  29. Jeff Burton
  30. David Gilliland
  31. Bobby Labonte
  32. Danica Patrick
  33. Landon Cassill
  34. Aric Almirola
  35. Mark Martin
  36. Ken Schrader
  37. JJ Yeley
  38. Scott Riggs
  39. Dave Blaney
  40. David Reutimann
  41. Casey Mears
  42. Josh Wise
  43. Joe Nemechek

Latest Posts

Don't Miss