Kevin Harvick wins wild Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte

CONCORD, N.C. – What took place during Sunday’s Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway couldn’t have been scripted.

Kevin Harvick, who earned his second win and eighth top-10 finish in 25 races at Charlotte, led only 28 of the total 400 laps – but he made them count.

“To win at Charlotte is something that we had to overcome for a long time. We kind of won it on gas mileage last time. We just went and won it this time,” said Harvick.

A nylon rope attached to a FOX Sports camera fell onto the track, injuring 10 fans, and damaged a few cars on lap 123.

“I didn’t see anything, I just heard a big thunk on the right-front tire and thought the right-front tire blew out,” Kyle Busch said. “That’s how hard it felt and what it felt and what it felt like. I did have an effect of slowing my car down and I could feel it like, ‘Whoa.’ That’s weird and I don’t know that anybody has ever seen that.

“Maybe we now can get rid of that thing.”

Kurt Busch, who was leading before his battery died during the ninth caution from laps 327-to-331, dropped to 15th before working his way back into the top-5.

“Well, it was a good 550 miles it seemed like for us, then the normal something has to pop up, some adversity we have to overcome about. It came about this week in a dead battery,” said Kurt Busch.

Following the quick decision to stay out and not take fresh tires, Kahne, who was leading, quickly became a sitting duck with just 11 laps left.

“We had a great car from the drop of the green. Just drove to the front from sixth. Felt really good throughout the race,” said Kahne.

“The car was so much better tonight,” added Kahne. “The guys did an awesome job to get it where it was. It drove basically perfect for 600 miles. That’s tough to do.”

Jimmie Johnson – finished 22nd – holds a 32-point advantage over Carl Edwards in the point standings.

The Sprint Cup Series will travel to Dover, Del. on June 2, for the running of the FedEx 400 Benefiting Autism Speaks.

Coca-Cola 600 Unofficial Results 

  1. Kevin Harvick 
  2. Kasey Kahne
  3. Kurt Busch
  4. Denny Hamlin
  5. Joey Logano
  6. Ryan Newman
  7. Tony Stewart
  8. Clint Bowyer
  9. Martin Truex Jr.
  10. Marcos Ambrose
  11. Carl Edwards
  12. Jeff Burton
  13. Paul Menard
  14. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  15. Matt Kenseth
  16. Trevor Bayne
  17. Regan Smith
  18. Juan Pablo Montoya
  19. Jamie McMurray
  20. David Gilliland
  21. David Reuitmann
  22. Jimmie Johnson
  23. Casey Mears
  24. Bobby Labonte
  25. David Ragan
  26. Josh Wise
  27. Timmy Hill
  28. JJ Yeley
  29. Danica Patrick
  30. Dave Blaney
  31. Greg Biffle
  32. David Stremme
  33. Aric Almirola
  34. Mark Martin
  35. Jeff Gordon
  36. Brad Keselowski
  37. Landon Cassill
  38. Kyle Busch
  39. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  40. Travis Kvapil
  41. Joe Nemechek
  42. Michael McDowell
  43. Scott Speed