Pocono qualifying rained out, Johnson on pole

With rain prominent throughout the day Friday afternoon at Pocono (Long Pond,PA) Raceway, NASCAR canceled both Sprint Cup Series practice session as well as qualifying for Sunday’s Party In The Poconos 400.

The starting field for Sunday’s 400-mile, 160-lap event was set per the NASCAR rule book. By canceling the practice session set for Friday afternoon, the field was ultimately set by 2013 car owner points.

Jimmie Johnson, who leads the championship standings by 30-points over second-place Carl Edwards, will start Sunday’s race from the pole position.

“There are a lot of good benefits from starting on the pole, from track position to pit road picks,” said Johnson.

“We’ll take it. The great season that we’ve had so far and the quick start, it’s nice to have that. It’s one of the benefits (as the point leader) when things rain out. So we certainly earned this first starting spot, and we’ll try to take advantage of it on Sunday.”

Joey Logano, who won this race last season, will start in twenty-first.

In 71 Sprint Cup Series races at Pocono, this marks just the fifth time a qualifying session at the 2.5-mile track has been rained out. It also marks the third time this season rain has canceled qualifying.

Las Vegas and Talladega were the other races in which Brad Keselowski and Carl Edwards started on the pole respectively.

With only 43-cars attempting to make the 43-car field, no drivers were bumped in the NASCAR rule book process.

Party in the Poconos 400 Starting Lineup 

  1. Jimmie Johnson 
  2. Carl Edwards
  3. Clint Bowyer
  4. Matt Kenseth
  5. Kevin Harvick
  6. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  7. Kasey Kahne
  8. Kyle Busch
  9. Paul Menard
  10. Brad Keselowski
  11. Jeff Gordon
  12. Aric Almirola
  13. Greg Biffle
  14. Mark Martin
  15. Martin Truex Jr.
  16. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  17. Denny Hamlin
  18. AJ Allmendinger
  19. Tony Stewart
  20. Kurt Busch
  21. Joey Logano
  22. Jamie McMurray
  23. Ryan Newman
  24. Jeff Burton
  25. Juan Pablo Montoya
  26. Marcos Ambrose
  27. Casey Mears
  28. David Ragan
  29. Bobby Labonte
  30. Danica Patrick
  31. David Gilliland
  32. Dave Blaney
  33. David Stremme
  34. David Reuitmann
  35. JJ Yeley
  36. Josh Wise
  37. Landon Cassill
  38. Timmy Hill
  39. Travis Kvapil
  40. Joe Nemechek
  41. Michael McDowell
  42. Jason Leffler
  43. Scott Riggs

Comments are closed.