Saturday, September 25, 2021

Latest Posts

Gary McLean returns to victory lane at Sunset Speedway

After winning the season opener at Sunset Speedway in May, Gary McLean returned to victory lane at Sunset Speedway to pick up his second victory of the season.

The wrecks started right away in the first heat as Ted Patterson spun on lap five. Lane Zardo then pulled off on lap eight due to throttle and brake issues on his mod. Davey Terry won ahead of Brent McLean, Bobby Tolton, Branden Bullen, Ryan Dick, Dave Osbourne and Patterson.

Gary McLean won the second heat ahead of Brad Pearsall, Shane Stickle, Max Beyore, Dean Scott, Brian McLean, Mike Westwood and John Harper.

In the third heat, Osbourne spun down the front straight to draw the caution. Then on the restart, Bullen spun off of turn four, collecting Patterson. The next two restarts would both be called off as Terry and Brent McLean took turns jumping the start. Brent McLean grabbed the win ahead of Terry, Zardo, Dick and Osbourne. Tolton failed to make the start due to mechanical problems.

Stickel picked up his first career modified heat win ahead of Gary McLean, Beyore, Pearsall, Brian McLean and Scott.

Come feature time, Gary McLean drew pole ahead of Brent McLean, Shane Stickel, Davey Terry, Max Beyore, Brad Pearsall, Ryan Dick, Dean Scott, Branden Bullen, Dave Osbourne, Brian McLean, Ted Patterson, Mike Westwood, John Harper and Lane Zardo.

Gary McLean took the early lead ahead of Brent McLean while Terry and Stickel battled for third; Terry cleared Stickel for third on lap two ahead of Beyore. The first caution came out at lap three when Brian McLean spun. Under the caution, Patterson made his way down pit road and as he left, he took a pylon with him as it got stuck under his left front wheel. Staff quickly noticed it and pulled it out. With 27 laps to go, Gary McLean led Brent McLean, Terry, Stickel, Beyore, Pearsall, Scott, Bullen, Dick, Harper, Westwood, Brian McLean and Patterson.

Gary McLean would hold Brent McLean off on the restart and led ahead of Terry, Beyore and Stickel. The caution would come back out as Dick would spin around.

On the restart, Gary McLean jumped ahead again while Brent McLean and Terry ran side-by-side for second. Terry grabbed second ahead of Brent, Beyore and Stickel. The caution then flew for third time when Zardo spun.

On the restart, there’d be more trouble when contact between Brent McLean and Terry would cause Terry to go for the spin. Both drivers would be sent to the back meaning Gary McLean now led ahead of Beyore, Bullen, Osbourne, Pearsall, Brian McLean, Scott, Terry, Brent McLean, Dick, Westwood and Patterson.

Gary McLean pulled ahead on the restart while Beyore and Bullen battled for second. Beyore held Bullen off all the way till the next caution when Scott and Brian McLean made contact, resulting in damage to both cars.

Gary McLean once again got another good restart ahead of Beyore and Bullen while Pearsall and Osbourne battled for fourth. Pearsall would pass Osbourne a lap later before the next caution for Brent McLean spinning in turns one and two trying to stay off of Osbourne.

The restart came with three laps to go and Gary McLean pulled ahead while Beyore and Bullen battled for second. Gary McLean would go on to take the win while Max Beyore would hold Branden Bullen off to seal second. For both Beyore and Bullen, it marks their first podium finishes in the OSCAAR Modifieds, Beyore’s coming in his first ever Modified start. Davey Terry and Brad Pearsall rounded out the top five.

Dave Osbourne finished sixth, followed by Brent McLean, Mike Westwood, Ryan Dick and Ted Patterson.


Latest Posts

Don't Miss