Thursday, September 23, 2021

Latest Posts

NSCS: Comedian, Actor Jay Mohr To Host The 2014 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Awards; Lady Antebellum, Aloe Blacc And Nashville’s Lennon And Maisy To Perform

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Nov. 25, 2014) – The slogan is as recognizable as any: What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas.


But NASCAR will make an exception on Dec. 5 when it gives audiences a front row seat as Jay Mohr, Lady Antebellum, Aloe Blacc and Lennon and Maisy take the stage at the 2014 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Awardsshow from the Wynn Las Vegas® live on FOX Sports 1.


This year, the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Awards will honor 2014 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Kevin Harvick, as well as celebrate the other Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup™ Challengers. FOX Sports 1 will provide coverage of the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Awards beginning at 9 p.m. ET. Motor Racing Network and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will begin coverage at 8 p.m. ET.


Mohr will serve as the host for the second consecutive year. The actor, comedian, radio host and best-selling author has one of the most expansive backgrounds in show business. After landing his dream job at “Saturday Night Live” and launching his career in film alongside Tom Cruise in “Jerry Maguire,” Mohr appeared in approximately 200 network television episodes and more than 25 feature films. Additionally, his national radio show, “Jay Mohr Sports,” is syndicated in more than 155 markets across the U.S. With a career in entertainment that spans over three decades, Mohr has become an artist who knows no limits, making him the perfect person to help celebrate NASCAR’s most prominent drivers. 


“This is my fifth time hosting the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Awards and I’m honored to share the stage once again with some of the most talented athletes in the world,” said Mohr. “This has been an incredibly exciting year for NASCAR and it’s not every day that you get to be a part of a defining moment in the history of a sport.”


Keeping his NASCAR performance streak rolling following his act at NASCAR’s season-opening, crown jewel eventthe 2014 DAYTONA 500® at Daytona International Speedway®, Blacc will kick off the musical entertainment for the night with the soulful selection that has “woken up” audiences around the world. The singer / songwriter collaborated as vocalist and co-writer on well-known DJ/producer Avicci’s 2013 track “Wake Me Up,” which topped the charts in more than 100 countries across the globe, before releasing his third album “Lift Your Spirit” in March 2014. The rapper-turned-singer uses his surging popularity to affect social change and to deliver messages of positivity and passion.


Later in the evening, the seven-time GRAMMY™ Award winning trio Lady Antebellum will keep the audience rocking with a new song from their fifth album entitled “747.” The 11-song disc has already spawned the PLATINUM certified multi-week chart-topping smash hit “Bartender,” and its new single “Freestyle” is quickly climbing the charts. The new album follows over 11 million albums sold worldwide, nine trips to No. 1 on the country radio charts, six Platinum singles and “Vocal Group of the Year” honors from both the CMA and ACMs three years in a row. Lady Antebellum just wrapped their headlining “TAKE ME DOWNTOWN TOUR,” which hit 80 cities in Canada and the U.S. over the course of the year, and delighted both fans and critics with the “Dallas Morning News” declaring, “Lady Antebellum shows off its warranted leap to superstardom.” For more information visit:


Additionally, 15-year-old Lennon Stella and her 10-year-old sister Maisy Stella from ABC’s hit drama “Nashville” will perform. The daughters of the recording duo Brad and MaryLynne Stella, Lennon and Maisy’s musical roots run deep. In 2013, the sisters had a show-stopping performance of “Ho Hey” by The Lumineers on “Nashville,” which quickly entered the top 40 of Billboard’s “Hot Country Songs” list. Later that same year, Lennon and Maisy performed at the CMA Awards™ and presented Taylor Swift with her Pinnacle award. They also performed at The White House this year and sang alongside cast members from “Degrassi,” Magic Johnson, Martin Sheen, The Band Perry, and J.R. Martinez at “We Day Minnesota” last month.


This year’s talent will join the esteemed list of NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Awards show artists from previous years, which include chart-topping singers, such as John Mellencamp, Phillip Phillips, Sara Bareilles, Dierks Bentley and Kid Rock.


“The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Awards present the opportunity to spotlight the biggest names in NASCAR, and we are thrilled to augment that star power with some of the most popular personalities in the entertainment industry,” said Zane Stoddard, NASCAR vice president of entertainment marketing and content development. “This year’s line-up is sure to add to what has been one of NASCAR’s most climactic racing seasons ever.”



The National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing, Inc. (NASCAR) is the sanctioning body for the No. 1 form of motorsports in the United States. NASCAR consists of three national series (the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR Nationwide Series, and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series), four regional series, one local grassroots series and three international series. The International Motor Sports Association (IMSA) governs the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship, the premier U.S. sports car series. Based in Daytona Beach, Fla., with offices in eight cities across North America, NASCAR sanctions more than 1,200 races in more than 30 U.S. states, Canada, Mexico and Europe. For more information, visit and follow NASCAR at and Twitter: @NASCAR.

Latest Posts

Don't Miss