NMPA: Lynda Petty Named Spirit Award Winner

Lynda Petty, the wife of seven-time NASCAR premier series champion Richard Petty, has been named the recipient of the National Motorsports Press Association’s annual Spirit Award for 2014.

Petty, who passed away March 30, 2014, was one of the founding members of the Racing Wives Auxiliary, a charitable organization that provided assistance to those in need within the racing community. Today the group, now known as the Women’s Auxiliary of Motorsports, seeks to enrich the lives of women, children and families through various education and wellness programs.

In addition to raising and caring for a family of four, Petty also was active in numerous community and civic endeavors.

The NMPA Spirit Award is designed to recognize character and achievement in the face of adversity, sportsmanship and contributions to motorsports. Each year, the NMPA membership selects four quarterly recipients, with an overall winner chosen from among the four candidates at season’s end.

Petty was the first quarter recipient of the award for 2014. Other recognized for their efforts were driver Martin Truex Jr. (second quarter), long-time car owner W.C. “Junie” Donlavey (third quarter) and brothers Darrell and Michael Waltrip (fourth quarter).

“The example that Lynda Petty and all of our Spirit Award nominees and recipients have set for us serves as a reminder that it’s not what you take from this life that is important, but what you give back,” 2014 NMPA President Kenny Bruce said.

“Recognizing the work and contributions of these people is an honor and a privilege the NMPA doesn’t take for granted.”

The announcement of the award came during the NMPA’s annual convention, held Jan. 25 in Concord, N.C.

NMPA Spirit Award Winners
Year – Recipient
2014 – Lynda Petty
2013 – Marcy Scott
2012 – Andy Hillenburg
2011 – Jeff Gordon
2010 – Jim Hunter
2009 – David Poole
2008 – T. Taylor Warren
2007 – Bill France Jr.
2006 – Benny Parsons
2005 – Morgan Shepherd
2004 – Kyle and Pattie Petty
2003 – Bob Latford
2002 – Larry Hicks
2001 – Ricky Craven
2000 – Kyle Petty
1999 – Clay Earles
1998 – Mark Martin
1997 – Dave Marcis
1996 – Dale Earnhardt
1995 – Ernie Irvan
1994 – Ernie Irvan
1993 – Davey Allison and Alan Kulwicki
1992 – Davey Allison Family