NSCS: National Motorsports Appeals Panel Statement

Photo Credit: Noel Lanier

National Motorsports Appeals Panel Statement

(Sept. 30, 2015)

The National Motorsports Appeals Panel today heard and considered the appeal of a P4 penalty issued on Sept. 23 to Rob Kauffman (owner), Clint Bowyer (driver), and Billy W. Scott (crew chief) relative to NASCAR Sprint Cup Series vehicle #15 at Chicagoland Speedway.

The penalty concerns the following sections in the 2015 NASCAR Rule Book: Sections 12.1, 20.14c,,,,

The original penalty assessed included a $75,000 fine, three-race suspension and six months’ probation for Scott and loss of 25 championship car owner and 25 championship driver points to both Kauffman and Bowyer.

Upon hearing the testimony, the decisions of the National Motorsports Appeals Panel are:

1.                  The Appellants violated the Rule or Rules set forth in the Penalty Notice.

2.                  That the Panel affirms and upholds the original Penalty assessed by NASCAR.

The panel consisted of the following three individuals:

Mr. Paul Brooks

Mr. Bill Lester

Mr. Bill Mullis

The Appellants have the right to appeal the decision of the National Motorsports Appeals Panel to the National Motorsports Final Appeals Officer in accordance with Section 15 of the NASCAR Rule Book as the Expedited Final Appeal. The deadline for filing is 5 p.m. ET on Sept. 30.