Chip Ganassi Racing XFINITY Series Advance Notes – PowerShares QQQ 300 – Daytona International Speedway

Chip Ganassi Racing XFINITY Series Advance Notes


Race:                             PowerShares QQQ 300 – 120 Laps / 300 miles #PowerSharesQQQ300
Track:                            Daytona International Speedway (DIS) (2.5 mile tri-oval)
Drivers:                        @KyleLarsonRacin, @BrennanPoole
Cars:                             No. 42 ENEOS Chevrolet Camaro, No. 48 DC Solar Chevrolet Camaro
Television:   Saturday Feb. 20 – FOX Sports 1 (3:30 p.m. ET)
Social:                           @CGRnascar #ENEOSRacing #DCSolar


We’re back: Although Chip Ganassi Racing (CGR) has been a fixture in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (NSCS), the organization fielded NASCAR XFINITY Series teams from 2004 – 2008. Over those five years CGR won six races, and amassed 32 top-five and 60 top-10 finishes along with nine pole awards.


Follow CGR on Twitter: Be sure to follow CGR on their official team Twitter page. Find in-race updates and weekly news on the No. 42 and No. 48 teams throughout the 2016 season by following “@CGRnascar”. You can also connect in the social conversation throughout the season with team hashtags – #ENEOSRacing and #DCSolar


@KyleLarsonRacin – @SpotterDerek @DISUpdates I hope you remember how to spot!

@BrennanPoole – Really pumped about running for a championship this year with @CGRTeams with @DCSolar on board #DCSolar #BullRush


Kyle Larson and No. 42 ENEOS Team

Larson in XFINITY in Daytona: Kyle Larson will make his sixth start in the XFINITY Series at DIS driving the No. 42 ENEOS Chevy Camaro. In his previous five starts, Larson has a best starting position of second in and a best finishing position of fifth, both coming in 2014. Larson has also led at least one lap in each of his five XFINITY Series starts at DIS.

ENEOS Racing: 2016 will mark the third year of a continued partnership with Japan’s largest oil company, JX Nippon Oil & Energy Corp., which will see its premium synthetic oil brand, ENEOS, as the primary sponsor on the No. 42 Chevrolet Camaro driven by Larson for nine XFINITY Series races. In addition, ENEOS will be a full-time associate sponsor for the No. 42 and No. 48 XFINITY Series teams, the No. 2 Larson Marks Racing World of Outlaws sprint car team and the CGR Global Rallycross team with driver Steve Arpin. Larson and ENEOS won in their first XFINITY Series start together at Charlotte Motor Speedway in 2014.

Brennan Poole and No. 48 DC Solar Team

Running for the Gold: Poole (24), will compete for the XFINITY Series championship and Sunoco Rookie of the Year honors in 2016. Veteran XFINITY Series Crew Chief Chad Norris will lead the DC Solar sponsored team. Poole shared seat time in 2015 with Larson and road-course specialist Justin Marks. The Woodlands, Texas native competed in 17 XFINITY Series races, scoring two top-10s and 10 top-15 finishes.

Return Engagement: The 2016 season will also mark the second season in NASCAR competition for DC Solar. As the leading manufacturer and distributor of mobile solar products, DC Solar serves a wide range of industries, including sports, emergency preparedness/disaster relief, electric vehicle charging, entertainment, construction, telecommunications and agriculture, among others.

Poole at Daytona: This will be Poole’s second XFINITY Series start at DIS on Saturday. Poole competed in the July XFINITY Series race in 2015, but was caught up in a late race accident. He also has one prior ARCA Racing Series start at DIS, finishing seventh in 2012.


Nick Harvey – Team Manager

John Probst – Technical Director

Tony Lunders – Competition Director

No. 42 (NXS)



Crew Chief: Mike Shiplett

Amherst, OH

Rear Tire Changer: Steven Tautges

Abbotsford, WI

Chief Mechanic: Ryan Shea

Tionesta, PA

Rear Tire Carrier: Gene Cornwell

Rock Hill, SC

Front Tire Changer: Steven Price

Lynchburg, VA

Gas Man: Ed Watkins

Richmond, VA

Front Tire Carrier: Aaron Schields

Goodland, KS

Spotter: Derek Kneeland

Windham, ME

Jack Man: Graham Molatch

Harrisburg, NC

No. 48 (NXS)



Crew Chief: Chad Norris

Freemont, IA

Rear Tire Changer: Kenyatta Houston

Bronx, NY

Chief Mechanic: Dwayne Bigger

Montoursville, PA

Rear Tire Carrier: PJ Briody

Austin, TX

Front Tire Changer: Daniel Kincaid

Port Byron, NY

Gas Man: Mike Metcalf

Charlotte, NC

Front Tire Carrier: Ben Fetzer

Fredericksburg, VA

Spotter: Tyler Green

Owensboro, KY

Jack Man: Shane Wilson

Edgewater, MD


Chip Ganassi has been a fixture in the auto racing industry for over 25 years and is considered one of the most successful as well as innovative owners the sport has anywhere in the world. Today his teams include four cars in the Verizon IndyCar Series, two cars in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, two cars in the NASCAR XFINITY Series, two factory Ford GT’s in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, two factory Ford GT’s in the FIA World Endurance Championship and two Supercars in Red Bull Global Rallycross. Overall his teams have 18 championships and 170 victories, including four Indianapolis 500s, a Daytona 500, a Brickyard 400 and six Rolex 24 At Daytonas and the 12 Hours of Sebring. Ganassi boasts state-of-the-art race shop facilities in Indianapolis and Concord, N.C., with a corporate office in Pittsburgh, Pa.

For more information log onto