Marco Andretti Wins Pole for Opening Detroit GP Race

Photo Credit: Chris Owens/IndyCar

The last time Marco Andretti started on pole for a Verizon IndyCar Series race, the series wasn’t called the Verizon IndyCar Series. That will change today in Detroit for the first of two races this weekend as Andretti has won pole for the first time since 2013.

Laying down a quick time of 1:14.8514, Andretti managed to win his fifth career pole, and first on a road or street circuit.

Scott Dixon, still on the hunt for his first win of the season, will start second followed by rookie Robert Wickens, Alexander Rossi and Ryan Hunter-Reay.

Last weekend’s Indianapolis 500 champion Will Power will start sixth with Takuma Sato in seventh, Graham Rahal in eighth, James Hinchcliffe starting ninth and Max Chilton rounding out the top-10.

Haas F1 Team development driver Santino Ferrucci is making his IndyCar debut this weekend, driving in place of injured Pietro Fittipaldi for Dale Coyne Racing. The 20-year-old will start 18th this afternoon.

Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix at Belle Isle Race No. 1 starting lineup

About Tyson Lautenschlager 552 Articles
A 22-year-old from Ontario, Canada, Tyson Lautenschlager is a Humber College journalism graduate. He is currently the managing editor of OnPitRoad and a chase producer at CTV News Channel in Toronto.