Timothy Peters wins Iowa pole

Toyota hadn’t won a pole in the first seven races of the Camping World Truck Series season until Matt Crafton took the top spot in qualifying last two weeks ago at Kentucky Speedway.

Now, the Toyota banner has two-straight Truck Series poles with Timothy Peters winning the pole for Saturday night’s American Ethanol 200 at Iowa Speedway.

Taking the pole with six trucks remaining in the session, Peters’ lap at 136.210 mph was good enough for the driver of the No.17 to take his fifth Truck Series pole.

Starting alongside Peters will be Nelson Piquet Jr., who was the fastest truck in final practice earlier on Saturday.

Justin Lofton, James Buescher, Johnny Sauter, Cale Gale, Matt Crafton, Ron Hornaday Jr., Jason Leffler, and Miguel Paludo round out the top-10 starters.

With 39 trucks attempting to make the 36-truck field, three were unable to qualify.

Todd Peck and Benjamin Reynolds both put laps in the books early in the session, but didn’t have the speed to make the field.

Natalie Sather crashed on her first qualifying lap, never recording a time and failed to make the starting field.

American Ethanol 200 Starting Lineup: 

1: Timothy Peters

2: Nelson Piquet Jr.

3: Justin Lofton

4: James Buescher

5: Johnny Sauter

6: Cale Gale

7: Matt Crafton

8: Ron Hornaday Jr.

9: Jason Leffler

10: Miguel Paludo

11: Todd Bodine

12: Joey Coulter

13: Paulie Harraka

14: Parker Kligerman

15: Ty Dillon

16: Dakoda Armstrong

17: Jeff Choquette

18: Tim George Jr.

19: David Starr

20: Ross Chastain

21: Jeff Agnew

22: Jason White

23: Caleb Holman

24: Brennan Newberry

25: Ryan Sieg

26: Travis Miller

27: Chris Jones

28: Bryan Silas

29: John Wes Townley

30: Dennis Setzer

31: Justin Jennings

32: Chris Fontaine

33: Norm Benning

34: Chris Lafferty

35: Todd Shafer

36: Jennifer Jo Cobb