Tuesday, September 28, 2021

Latest Posts

Montoya doubles up on poles for the year

When it comes to qualifying lately, Juan Pablo Montoya has been fast, record breaking fast.

After sitting on to the pole last week, Montoya returned to the top position after qualifying at Watkins Glen International wrapped up on Saturday Morning.

With a lap of 69.438 seconds/127.020 mph  Montoya not only beat the other 42 drivers at the track, his time was the fastest a NASCAR Sprint Cup car had ever gotten around the seven turn road course.

Montoya has one previous win at the road course in New York, back in 2010, when he started from the third position to take the victory. Despite the victory, this is Montoya’s first ever pole at the track.

It is the ninth time the Colombian has started a race from the pole in his career.

Starting right next to Montoya will be the 2008 winner of the Watkins Glen race, Kyle Busch. Busch went out after Montoya, but couldn’t quite edge Montoya for the pole.

When it come to Watkins Glen International, Busch is usually expected to start up front, he won the final practice session of the weekend and in eight races at the track he has started in the top-10 in seven of those races.

Rounding out the top-five starting positions for the Finger Lakes 355 will be Jimmie Johnson in third, Brad Keselowski in fourth and last year’s winner, Marcos Ambrose, in fifth.

No drivers went home since only 43 cars were entered for the race.

Finger Lakes 355 starting line-up:

  1. Juan Pablo Montoya
  2. Kyle Busch
  3. Jimmie Johnson
  4. Brad Keselowski
  5. Marcos Ambrose
  6. Ryan Newman
  7. Tony Stewart
  8. Clint Bowyer
  9. Martin Truex Jr.
  10. Jamie McMurray
  11. Michael McDowell
  12. Jeff Gordon
  13. Regan Smith
  14. Joey Logano
  15. Greg Biffle
  16. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  17. Sam Hornish Jr.
  18. Carl Edwards
  19. Kevin Harvick
  20. Kasey Kahne
  21. Scott Speed
  22. Paul Menard
  23. Denny Hamlin
  24. Matt Kenseth
  25. Boris Said
  26. Bobby Labonte
  27. Kurt Busch
  28. Jeff Burton
  29. Aric Almirola
  30. Casey Mears
  31. Dave Blaney
  32. David Ragan
  33. Brian Vickers
  34. David Gilliland
  35. Landon Cassill
  36. Joe Nemechek
  37. J.J. Yeley
  38. Josh Wise
  39. Stephen Leicht
  40. Chris Cook
  41. Jason Leffler
  42. Travis Kvapil
  43. Patrick Long

Latest Posts

Don't Miss