Saturday, October 16, 2021

Latest Posts

Ty Dillon takes truck pole in Atlanta

The famous No.3 is on the pole in Atlanta.

No, it’s not an Earnhardt behind the wheel. It’s 18-year-old Ty Dillon on the pole for Friday night’s NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race at Atlanta Motor Speedway—the Jeff Foxworthy’s Grit Chips 200.

Dillon’s lap circling the 1.5-mile Atlanta Motor Speedway at 177.357 mph was enough to hold off his Richard Childress Racing teammate, Tim George Jr., for his second career pole and his second in 2012.

“Couldn’t be more happy for my guys. Last week was a tough week was a tough week for us. It wasn’t anybody’s fault, just running out of gas is one of those things that happens,” said Dillon after winning the pole in his first trip to the Atlanta Motor Speedway.

“It gives us a lot of confidence. It’s a relief to get another pole, and here at Atlanta is such a tricky track, I didn’t think we were going to qualify that good.”

Still looking for his first Truck Series win, Dillon is looking to head to victory lane to make a late season push at the championship.

“Everybody’s so willing to help out here at RCR. My brother’s team is down here. We want to win bad, and our team deserves it for sure so we’re going to go for it tonight.”

Starting behind the pair of RCR trucks for tonight’s race will be the driver with the most wins in the series in 2012, James Buescher, and the all-time wins leader at Atanta Motor Speedway in the Truck Series, Kyle Busch.

Busch’s fourth place qualifying effort broke up a Chevrolet strangle-hold on the top-five positions with Nelson Piquet Jr.’s Chevrolet posting the fifth-fastest lap in the session.

Series points leader and the most recent winner in the Truck Series, Timothy Peters, will start the 200-mile race from the eighth position, more than likely ending his streak of 204 consecutive laps lead after leading every lap last week at Bristol Motor Speedway.

39 trucks attempted to qualifying for the 36-truck field that will start tonight’s race.

Jeff Green, Jennifer Jo Cobb and Norm Benning are the three drivers that were not able to get into the starting field based on their qualifying lap speed.

Jeff Foxworthy’s Grit Chips 200 Starting Lineup: 

1: Ty Dillon

2: Tim George Jr.

3: James Buescher

4: Kyle Busch

5: Nelson Piquet Jr.

6: Johnny Sauter

7: Miguel Paludo

8: Timothy Peters

9: Parker Kligerman

10: Matt Crafton

11: Jason White

12: Ryan Blaney

13: Aric Alimrola

14: Joey Coulter

15: Kurt Busch

16: Ross Chastain

17: Kyle Larson

18: Cale Gale

19: Ron Hornaday Jr.

20: Justin Lofton

21: Todd Bodine

22: John Wes Townley

23: Ryan Sieg

24: David Starr

25: Johnny Chapman

26: Chad McCumbe

27: Scott Riggs

28: Bryan Silas

29: Dakoda Armstrong

30: Max Gresham

31: Caleb Holman

32: Blake Koch

33: Chris Fontaine

34: Dennis Setzer

35: Stephen Leicht

36: Chris Jones

Latest Posts

Don't Miss