Logano takes Chicagoland pole in Nationwide

Joey Logano has certainly been on a role in the Nationwide Series this season.

With six wins to his credit in 15 starts this season, Logano took his fourth pole of the season by earning the top spot in qualifying for Saturday’s Dollar General 300 at the Chicagoland (Joliet) Speedway.

” I thought it was a pretty decent lap,” said Logano after his lap. “This was one of our worst races of the year here last year. We’ve made it a lot better here this year.”

Logano took the pole with a lap averaging 177.649 mph around the 1.5-mile Chicagoland Speedway, marking the 20th time in his Nationwide Series career that he will lead the field to the green flag.

“I’m exicted about it. I feel like I have a shot at another win here today,” said Logano.

Current Nationwide Series point leader and winner of the most recent race at Chicagoland Speedway in July, Elliott Sadler, will start this afternoon’s event from the fifth position.

Sadler’s championship rival and the driver who led the most laps back in July, Ricky Stenhouse Jr, will start the race one row ahead of Sadler in the third position.

Brad Keselowski, who led 158 of the 200 laps en route to victory in this race one year ago, will start the race from the 16th position.

There was only one incident in the session which occurred when Brian Scott spun his No.11 Toyota off the fourth turn at the end of his first lap.

As a result of his spin, Scott will start today’s race from the 43rd position.

With only 43 car taking part in the qualifying session, no drivers failed to qualify for Saturday afternoon’s race.

Dollar General 300 Starting Lineup

1: Joey Logano

2: Austin Dillon

3: Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

4: Sam Hornish Jr.

5: Elliott Sadler

6: Kyle Busch

7: Paul Menard

8: Michael Annett

9: Mike Bliss

10: Justin Allgaier

11: Kenny Wallace

12: Danica Patrick

13: Cole Whitt

14: Benny Gordon

15: Jason Bowles

16: Brad Keselowski

17: Johanna Long

18: Brad Sweet

19: Tayler Malsam

20: Alex Bowman

21: Mike Wallace

22: Jamie Dick

23: Josh Wise

24: Dexter Stacey

25: Joe Nemechek

26: Chase Miller

27: Jeff Green

28: JJ Yeley

29: Blake Koch

30: Eric McClure

31: Jeremy Clements

32: Matthew Carter

33: Scott Riggs

34: Eric Darnell

35: Danny Efland

36: Timmy Hill

37: Juan Carlos Blum

38: Tony Raines

39: Morgan Shepard

40: Joey Gase

41: Mike Harmon

42: Tim Andrews

43: Brian Scott