Saturday, October 16, 2021

Latest Posts

Logano blisters Michigan track record

BROOKLYN, MI — Another track record has fallen in 2013 with the Gen-6 car.

Joey Logano broke Marcos Ambrose’s single-lap qualifying record at Michigan International Speedway Friday afternoon with a lap averaging 203.949 mph.

“That felt faster than practice,” said Logano who was unsure if his lap of record would withstand at the top of the scoring chart after his qualifying lap. “I think it was better than what we had in practice.”

The lap for Logano came towards the middle of the qualifying session when the 2-mile, d-shape oval was under full cloud cover, making for optimum conditions to produce a fast lap.

The pole marks the first time in 2013 that Logano has won a pole award and his first since Homestead-Miami last November. It’s also the pole Logano has won with Penske Racing.

Sunday, Logano looks for his first win with the Penske Racing team at the Sprint Cup level; a win the team needs to make a run at a Chase birth.

“You got to pass a lot of cars, that’s the difficult part,” Logano said about being 27-points outside the top-10 four races before the Chase.

“One win is not going to be enough right now. You got to have a win and points…or two wins.”

Another driver attempting to make the Chase will start alongside Logano come Sunday.

Kurt Busch, who sits 11th in Sprint Cup points,  qualified his Chevrolet in the second position with Jimmie Johnson, Mark Martin, and Jeff Burton rounding out the top-five.

“203 mph didn’t feel like 203,” Busch said following his qualifying lap commenting on the stability of both the care and tire at the two-mile track.

Johnson commented that some drivers opted more on the side of a safe lap rather than risk overdriving the car which he stated would hurt the lap more than a conservative approach.

Pure Michigan 400 Unofficial Starting Lineup 

  1. Joey Logano
  2. Kurt Busch
  3. Jimmie Johnson
  4. Mark Martin
  5. Jeff Burton
  6. Juan Pablo Montoya
  7. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  8. Denny Hamlin
  9. Brad Keselowski
  10. Kyle Busch
  11. Clint Bowyer
  12. Matt Kenseth
  13. Jeff Gordon
  14. Aric Almirola
  15. Kevin Harvick
  16. Greg Biffle
  17. Martin Truex Jr.
  18. Trevor Bayne
  19. Carl Edwards
  20. Paul Menard
  21. Ryan Newman
  22. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  23. David Gilliland
  24. David Ragan
  25. David Reutimann
  26. Marcos Ambrose
  27. Austin Dillon
  28. Danica Patrick
  29. Jamie McMurray
  30. Bobby Labonte
  31. Kasey Kahne
  32. Scott Speed
  33. Casey Mears
  34. Timmy Hill
  35. JJ Yeley
  36. David Stremme
  37. Joe Nemechek
  38. Travis Kvapil
  39. Brendan Gaughan
  40. Josh Wise
  41. Johnny Sauter
  42. Dave Blaney
  43. Landon Cassill

Latest Posts

Don't Miss