Tuesday, September 28, 2021

Latest Posts

Dillon wins Daytona Nationwide pole

For the second qualifying session in a row, the No.3 Chevrolet driven by Austin Dillon was the fastest.

With a lap of 177.340 mph around 2 1/2-mile Daytona International Speedway, Dillon took his third Nationwide Series pole his career and his first at a track bigger than 1 1/2- miles in Nationwide Series competition.

Dillon was able to withstand challenges from Richard Childress Racing teammate, Kevin Harvick, and Sprint Cup Series drivers Kurt and Kyle Busch among others to take the pole position for Friday night’s 250-mile race.

2011 Nationwide Series champion, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., was the final driver to take a shot at the pole position. Stenhouse’s lap of 177.253 mph wasn’t enough to overtake the RCR Chevrolet.

After winning his first career Nationwide race last Friday at the Kentucky Speedway, Dillon will attempt to win two races in a row and regain the points lead after a six point penalty dropped him to second in the championship standings.

Winner of the February 300-mile race at Daytona, James Buescher, will start the race from the fifteenth position driving for the same Turner Motorsports team he took his first NASCAR win with.

Stenhouse Jr., Cole Whitt, Danica Patrick, Kevin Harvick,  Kurt Busch, Brad Keselowski, Mike Wallace, Joey Logano, and Brian Scott are the top-10 starters for tonight’s race.

With 43 cars attempting for the 43 available starting positions, no drivers failed to make the race.

Subway Jalapeno 250 Starting Lineup:  

1: Austin Dillon

2: Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

3: Cole Whitt

4: Danica Patrick

5: Kevin Harvick

6: Kurt Busch

7: Brad Keselowski

8: Mike Wallace

9: Joey Logano

10: Brian Scott

11: Bobby Santos III

12: Johanna Long

13: Clint Bowyer

14: Elliott Sadler

15: James Buescher

16: Mike Bliss

17: Sam Hornish Jr.

18: Michael Annett

19: John Wes Townley

20: Brad Sweet

21: Kyle Busch

22: Justin Allgaier

23: Tayler Malsam

24: Jeff Green

25: Casey Roderick

26: Joe Nemechek

27: Eric McClure

28: Josh Richards

29: Danny Efland

30: Jason Bowles

31: Jeffrey Earnhardt

32: Blake Koch

33: Bryan Silas

34: Jeremy Clements

35: Robert Richardson Jr.

36: TJ Bell

37: Mike Harmon

38: Timmy Hill

39: Stephen Leicht

40: Josh Wise

41: Joey Gase

42: Erik Darnell

43: Chase Miller

Latest Posts

Don't Miss